We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hope & Anchor
Nearby Hotels
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
$128
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$147
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
$117
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
107
93
43
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
93
43
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantfish and chipsmid week stayduring happy hourmonkfishporkb bwalking the dogsaturday nightevening mealdogs are allowedbed was very comfortablevisiting alnmouthfull englishstayed for one nightdog ownersthe main street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 278 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We popped into the Hope and Anchor for a bar meal on the basis that it was dog friendly - we have a retired greyhound. Decor in pub leaves a lot be desired - the Hotel Inspector would have a field day. But.......... the food was excellent, good portions, piping hot, nicely presented, and good value. Staff were good. Atmosphere relaxed and friendly. Plenty of space for dog to stretch out, even though the place was moderatelly full. We enjoyed the meal so much we went back the next evening. My wife is vegetarian, but was complimentary about the veggie options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank harvblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I visited this pub with two friends for lunch during the week, small and friendly bar my friend and I had the seafood tower with a side of chips and our other friend had fish and chips we also ordered some garlic bread. It was lovely and fresh, the salad was lovely and the seafood tower consisted of crab, prawns and smoked salmon all delicous. The fish and chips was huge and the fish fresh and and batter crisp. Friendly efficient service and the food seemed as if it was prepared to order. The furnishings in the bar are a little tired but I was not there to check the furniture and our meal was good value and we would return. By the way the chips were home made not frozen, a pleasant change from some other bar meals we have had.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elle419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very warm and friendly staff. Very pleasant pub & restaurant on site and the best cooked breakfast I've had recently at a B&B - even provided veggie sausages! The room was comfortable and clean - perhaps not the most fashionable decor, but we don't really mind these things… The pub downstairs is certainly 'doggie heaven' and so highly recommended for dog owners!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We went here through Groupon and loved it. It was advertised as dog friendly so we borrowed one for the weekend!!

Good selection of real ale and the evening meal was very good. Breakfast was excellent. Bedroom was huge, but a little dated ~ comfy, clean and warm so you cant really complain.

The town is lovely and the walks on the beach fantastic ~ good pubs too!!

We got a great deal, but would certainly return... I can imagine Alnmouth being overun in the summer months though.

Only quibble ~ they wouldn't let us have the football on and put rugby on instead, even though the alleged rugby watchers were taking no notice!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed two nights at Hope and Anchor over the Jubilee weekend and very disappointed. Very small, tired and dated room overlooking back of pub with view of yard. Food was average - certainly would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews