We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Alnmouth: Midwood Lodge”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to cosy Midwood lodge with wood burning stove. Free logs. WIFI, Netflix, treehouse, garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to cosy Midwood lodge with wood burning stove. Free logs. WIFI, Netflix, treehouse, garden.
Welcome to Midwood lodge with wood burning stove eviivo Hidden Gem Award Winner 2018 for The North East.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Welcome to cosy Midwood lodge with wood burning stove. Free logs. WIFI, Netflix, treehouse, garden.
Welcome to Midwood lodge with wood burning stove
eviivo Hidden Gem Award Winner 2018 for The North East.
Lovely sunny conservatory
Welcome to Midwood Garden with tree house
Dining area with seating for 6 - 8.
Wood burning stove in the Lodge with free fuel
Patio area and sunny garden with bike shed
Family bathroom with over the bath shower.
Tree house in the sun
View to Alnmouth from the estuary
Alnmouth Beach, an area of oustanding natural beauty.
River Aln at sunset
Welcome to Midwood Lodge
Kitchen with dish washer, washer drier and electric hob.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Alnmouth, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bill A
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alnmouth: Midwood Lodge”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely house, great situation and very well equipped. Would recommend and would definitely return. Owners very organised and when we arrived they had provided a very nice welcome pack for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it. We try to make the Lodge and Cottage a home from home. We are delighted when our guests enjoy their stay and have had a lovely time exploring Northumberland. We hope you can visit the area again in the future.
Best Wishes Christine and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wandering...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely property with large garden area, conservatory, and more information about things to do and places to visit than can be read! We had a fantastic 3 night break. The weather was awful so we didn't use the garden, but there were plenty of books, games and DVDs to keep us all very happy. We'd certainly happily visit again. Thanks for a lovely lodge and the welcome goodies!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The space in and around the property and the location
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David J
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is the second time we have visited these two cottages, this time with the extended family for my father in laws 60th. This is a great little cottage with plenty of space for the whole family to relax and the added large garden with tree house and swing for my son, weather permitting of course.(whole host of toys, games and other things to keep him occupied too)
The cottage is well kitted out and the welcome pack is great to arrive to, put the kettle on for a cup of tea and slice of home made cake, I'd probably come back again just for the cake.
The cottage is a short walk into the lovely village of Alnmouth too with its great beach, great walks, a number of lovely pubs and eateries, our favourite being the red lion but never had a bad meal in anywhere we have eaten.
We stayed for a long weekend which is what we did last year and given what the cottage and Alnmouth have to offer plus the rest of Northumbria on your doorstep ( Alnwick gardens, Harry Potter, Castles, Golf, Beaches, Farne Island, Holy island, food, drink) you can't ask for a lot more a couple of hours up the A1.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stew13Lon...
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay with children”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife, baby son and stayed at Midwood Lodge in April 2015. My wife and | have stayed in Almouth twice before, but needed a self-catering venue that worked for the three of us. Midwood lodge certainly did that!

The benefits:
1. a large living room space for our baby son to move round in (especially after a 7 hour journey!)
2. A large garden with a great treehouse (he was too young for this!), a myriad of balls to play with and various wildlife (pheasant, robins, starlings and rabbits!!)
3. A second bedroom with a cot provided
4. A high chair
5. A great almond cake (home-made!)

Another benefit is the parking which, if you visit the village in summer, is incredibly hard to find.

This is a great place to stay and we will return!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - well equipped, cosy house and fab garden for kids”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Midwood Lodge. The children loved the treehouse and tyre swing in the garden and the array of games. The cottage was very well equipped, with everything we needed, and we particularly appreciated having both a washing line and a tumble drier to cope with laundry requirements! The kids loved sleeping in the triple bunk bed too. The cottage is very well located for Alnmouth beach, and for exploring further afield. The owner was lovely and super-helpful, even leaving us some gluten-free goodies when she found out that we had coeliac members of the party - and driving to where we were staying the following week to return some hand knitted sweaters we had left in one of the cupboards - really above and beyond what we expected. Lovely stay in a beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fab kid-friendly garden
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing