We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming inn serving good pub food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland
Ranked #3 of 12 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Welcoming inn serving good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We took shelter in the Sun Inn on a wet and windy day in Alnmouth. The Sun is well presented,cosy and welcoming. We ordered the steak & ale pie, scampi & chips and the lamb shank with mash. They were all well cooked and tasty, everything you would expect from a good pub lunch.

Room Tip: Didn't stay over so na
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    56
    15
    11
    3
See reviews for
49
107
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evolene, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had visited Alnmouth for one night a few years ago when we stayed at one of the other establishments in the village. Memories of the cosy bar at the Sun Inn helped us to decide to book our three nights there this time.
The warm welcome from Danni was enough to reassure us that we had made the right decision. The room was great with everything we needed, including a very comfy big bed and large bathroom with a super powerful shower ( we hardly ever come across one of those!)
Even though the bar was very busy with people eating we were assured of a table and enjoyed two delicious evening meals ( we made the mistake of going to one of the other pubs on the second night) On the menu were the usual pub favourites plus some specials , chefs own fishcakes were delicious, as was the beef and ale pie, and everything was piping hot and very nicely presented, and of course brought to the table with a smile.
Would have loved to have stayed longer in this beautiful friendly part of the world.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judemcsuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile


I stayed here for the very first time on Monday 30th September 2013 and within one week I was back.

The food, the setting and the staff are all fantastic ... The proprietors are Bren and Mel and they will have you feeling most welcome and valued within minutes of your arrival.

The rooms are beautiful and the food is unbelievable, not dissimilar to eating in a Michelin starred restaurant ... all locally sourced ingredients and cooked fresh upon receipt of your order.

I could write a million good words about this place, but will instead strongly recommend that you try it for yourself ... it's fabulous!

Mark R, Seaton Burn.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raf147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds west yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visited Alnmouth for two nights beginning of October 2013, Stayed out of town,
Both evenings dined in the very cosy, friendly Sun Inn.
Very good quality "pub grub" on both evenings and a good atmosphere with locals mixing with holidaymakers around the bar area.
would consider staying in their upstairs accommodation at a later date after reading reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachwalker86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Both pub and room were spotless and very attractively presented. The staff were welcoming and the food was good.

It was rather let down by the noise from the refrigeration equipment, located beneath the window of our room (room one). It's not all that loud, but I could clearly hear it with the window closed and it prevented me from getting a good night's sleep. Without this, I would have rated The Sun as “very good”.

It would be nice to have WiFi.

Room Tip: Other rooms may be quieter than room one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badelynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

A quirky pub with awesome wooden decor....friendly and attentive staff .. Beautiful Camembert starter and an amazing roast that followed. I speak for all of the party, each and everyone throughly enjoyed their meal.. Will certainly pop back if we ever visit alnmouth again..

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank macpiarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

During our trip to Durham and Northumberland we had an overnight stay at the Sun Inn, the welcome was warm and friendly and our family room was ideal. The food both for dinner and breakfast was lovely and the atmosphere in the bar at night was great. Only downside, which can be overcome with a sense of humour, was the lack of available parking on the street, but this certainly wouldn't put me off staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallowfield15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
2.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
9.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
7.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
8.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland

Property: The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland
Address: 29 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Sun Inn Alnmouth Northumberland Hotel Alnmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing