We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”
Review of Bistro 23

Bistro 23
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Alnmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We serve breakfast,morning coffees & cake,light lunches,afternoon tea in the Tea room and on some evenings bistro meals.Please ring for opening hours as it depends on time of year.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“weekend away”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a wonderful end to our weekend trip away. Thankfully we booked. When we arrived at 7.30 the restaurant was already buzzing. The service was exceptional and the food matched. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed everything that we had. A definite place to eat but you need to book to ensure you get in .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    70
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Fish Night”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our party of 4 arrived eagerly looking forward to a great night of local seafood and were not disappointed. The lobster and the sea trout were terrific. The service was friendly and efficient. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TermiteofMesopotamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Birthday bash”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

8 girls/ladies on a weekend break to celebrate a 60th birthday . Because of the number in our party we booked well in advance. Sparkles put on the table and Proseeco ordered in for us. The owners very friendly and attentive

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristineG578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Called in on a quiet Sunday afternoon for a cuppa ... but then saw Craster Kippers on the menu so had to give in to temptation. Glad I did. Lovely meal, tea, surroundings and staff. A real treat.

Helpful?
1 Thank haywa_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Lovely Surprise”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had previously visited Alnmouth several times and had morning coffee and afternoon tea at Bistro 23.

When walking past the venue during the day we were attracted to the Evening Meal set Menu.

We booked and were very pleasantly surprised by our experience. There was quite an intimate feel to the restaurant...

We arrived early and were given a lovely, friendly welcome by the Owner and the experience continued in all aspects of the evening.

My wife and I both had different courses and the quality (most important), and quantity of the food was matched by the friendly service and all round value for money.

The wine List wa varied and affordable and we will certainly return to Bistro 23 on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 23 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing