We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb”
Review of Bistro 23

Bistro 23
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Alnmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We serve breakfast,morning coffees & cake,light lunches,afternoon tea in the Tea room and on some evenings bistro meals.Please ring for opening hours as it depends on time of year.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just back from a wonderful meal at Bistro 23. The restaurant was full but the staff had time for little chats at the table which was nice. A slight disappointment was that wifes beef was not available mainly due to "Weird Weather Wednesday"practically everyone before us had chosen the beef. However the food was beautifully presented with unusual but tasty combinations.Would definitly return if in the area again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    70
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A bit 'cosy', but fine food”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

As a tea room which transforms into a restaurant, the tables are rather close and small, however the food is good, the service friendly, and the wine sensibly-priced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“!st Class”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

It is essential to book as it is very popular with both locals and holidaymakers. We went twice during our stay in April and every table was taken. Service was warm, friendly and efficient. The menu was thoughtfully made up of seasonal, locally sourced produce offering a good range of choice (approx. 5 starters and 5 mains - why would you want more?) A smallish menu usually means all the food will be well prepared and we were not disappointed.
A family concern with husband and wife waiting on tables and eldest daughter as chef, Bistro 23 is well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent eatery but....”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have eaten here on several occasions now and its fair to say we have enjoyed each visit.Its the best eating in the Alnmouth/Alnwick area and reasonably priced. Unfortunately, the limited opening and the set menu clearly targets Alnmouth visitors who are in the village for a week or two. The lack of variation in the set menu (dont get me wrong,the food is very good) and the unexciting wine list means as locals we dont use the restaurant as much as we would like to.If the proprietor could see his way to adding and regularly changing one or two specials to the set menu and extending and rotating the wine list,we would be crossing the threshold a lot more often. Oh,and an extra nights opening in the week might be good too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ytareh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A1 food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Me and my partner arrived 8.55pm last orders was 9.00pm was not a problem they found us a table and wasn't rushed to order in fact called the waiter over to place our order and waiter was very polite. Tourist boards talk a lot about hidden gems, well believe me this is definitely one. the menu isn't large but after experiencing a selection from it I must say I wouldn't hesitate to try them all. Food magnificent, service second to none. please if you are in area or even got to make a detour to try it out, please don't miss out on a truly lovely experience. please remember only open WEDNESDAY&SATURDAY EVENINGS.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisatb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 23 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing