We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual visitor”
Review of Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a lovely old pub and full of character which I visit annually whilst on vacation.
There is a great bar which is dog-friendly and you can dine there as well as in the restaurant.
The pub also has a lovely garden with raised decking overlooking the estuary.
My perception is that the food, although generally good, does not warrant the current prices and although the great selection of ales from microbreweries are always in tip-top condition, £3.60 a pint is pushing it by any standards.
My other grouse is that in such a cosy bar, once the carpets were removed a few years ago to expose the wooden floor, there has been nothing to deaden the noise making conversation difficult when the pub is busy.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 242 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have been visiting this area for a while now and, when here, walk our dogs on Alnmouth Beach every day. We hd tried the other two pubs in the village which are very average and we rather shortsightedly assumed the Red Lion would be the same. How wrong we were. Last week we simply decided to pop in for a drink. We sat in the beer garden over looking the Aln river which, it has to be said, is quite a trek from the bar. The beer was superb, locally brewed and in tiptop condition. We therefore decided to have lunch there last Saturday. The menu had a choice of just 4 main courses of which I chose the Steak & Ale Pie and my partner the Lambs Liver. Both were superb, the pie crammed full of chunks of lean and tender beef ( unlike most pubs where you get a few scraps of gristle floating in a sea of greasy gravy with a cardboard lid), and the liver was cooked to perfection. As for the chips - real potato and fresh! We were so impressed we went back for Sunday lunch. Again, magnificent with superb quality meat and veg. The beers were all top notch and mainly local. The Red Lion is a pub which clearly has pride in it's food and drink, something very sadly lacking in this day and age, and particularly reassuring given that it's prime location would probably allow them to fob the customer off with any old industrially prepared food. The young bar and waiting staff were friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Overall, a wonderful pub experience which we will be repeating on our increasingly frequent visits to Alnmouth. N.B. the review page is insisting I rate the bedrooms which I cannot do as we were not staying ther. I have put 3 stars but this is irrelevant!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Folkytypes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Two of us were on the C&C cycle trip from Newcastle to Edinburgh and stayed in this delightful seaside town. The Red Lion was recommended for its food and, apart from getting the order wrong, the food was actually superb. The real ales were well kept and the pub atmosphere was welcoming, even though they were very busy. I stayed in Room 6 which was amazingly quiet, my friend in Room 1 which was less so. If I have a quibble it is that, having booked that same day, we were both going to be charged the full double room rate until we complained and the rate was then reduced to single occupancy, but only by £15 each. Oversight or deliberate ? It was expensive in any event.

Room Tip: Room 6 was excellent as so quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StridingJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed over for a night recently and treated the wife's parents to bed, breakfast and dinner. We had rooms 5 and 6 which were well appointed and very clean. Staff were friendly and attentive despite how busy both the bar area and restaurant were. The beer garden is a real plus point. Food was very good. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We feel very lucky to be able to have stayed here. It is not 5 star but I have to say it was immaculatley clean not even a moth in any of the glass lamp shades. When i tried to book here it was fully booked and we were disappointed as we really wanted to be based in Alnmouth and not in Alnwick (nothing wrong with Alnwick but we needed to be in Alnmouth on this occassion). I should have expected this as it was Bank Holiday weekend with a big cycling event on and their traditional market day. Anyway to cut a long story short they rang with a cancellation so I jumped at the chance. We had the top floor which is a three beddded room (double bed and a single) and our daughter had a twin room and there was a shared bathroom for the two rooms which had a bath and a shower. There is a door that locks that makes this accomodation a great "suite" of rooms fab for a family especially if the chidren are a bit older. Our daughter is 21 so she had the privacy she wanted and so did we. Having said that as we were leaving I did manage to peek into the other rooms as they were being serviced and they looked fine as well. I was a bit worried when i saw that there was a group on in the bar that night but heard nothing (they were good anyway) while we were in our room and the town is very quiet after closing time. We were right outside the church with a chiming clock every 15 minutes and the hour. Phew. It stops at midnight and restarts at 0815. The rooms are beamed so be careful if you are tall like we are. We didn't eat here but from what I saw the food looked really good and seemed a good price as well. The staff Excellent. Even ran out to the car park to see if there was a space for me. Really a set of good kids. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was extremely polite and helpful in a normal relaxed way. Would we stay again. YES.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had read the reviews and visited for a drink as we are staying in Alnmouth just around the corner so had high hopes of a good meal. Northumbrian Roast Beef at £7.95 and Beef pie similar price sounded excellent value for money and arrived very quickly....rather too quickly in fact. The roast beef was more braised than roasted and more of a shin cut than a roasted joint, the Yorkshire pudding was overlooked and far too crisp and hard to be freshly cooked. We ate at 6.30 PM and the Sunday menu was offered all day. It is a problem for pubs to 'keep food hot and cooked' for hours on end. Answer, just serve traditional lunches earlier in the day and revert to evening menu. We were generally a bit disappointed, it may have been better at 1 PM, roast potato ( just 1!) and broccoli were ok. It filled a gap, that's all. pie was also ok, meat rather dry and pastry a bit chewy. won't return for food.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Coolcookingteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We popped in here for Sunday lunch and we were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The food i can only describe as amazing. For the trio of meat lunch we had pork, lamb & beef and i have never had meat like it. It just fell apart and was totally delicious. The veg was lightly cooked, just how i like it and the mash was lovely and peppery. The only problem was that there was just too much. We were told afterwards that we could have had a half portion which meant i could have eaten the massive yorkshire pud! All in all a fabulous place for food and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Multipacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
3.3 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
545 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Schooner Hotel
The Schooner Hotel
#11 of 11 in Alnmouth
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: 22 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Alnmouth
Alnmouth Red Lion
Red Lion Alnmouth
Red Lion Inn Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing