We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy red Lion”
Review of Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had fond memories of RL from a previous visit. This time meals were good but vegeterian options were very limited which wasn't the case last time, so that was disapointing. The meal arrived in a timely manner and all was good, a bit of salad and a few more chips would have improved. Atmosphere was good, winter warmer ale fab, staff friendly. Having compared Alnmouth as a whole to other seaside towns well ahead across the board against most I've been to. Overall food, beer and atmosphere probably best in Alnmouth, in my opinion. I've never seen such clean toilets. Great beer garden even in snow.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 241 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

we visited this pub while staying in alnmouth this week lovely warm welcome, and nice hot fire the food was exellent came served pipping hot, the staff were so friendly could not be more helpful will be back here again in the warm months well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Visited on a freezing cold night last week & had the 3 course set price menu which was lovely. The bar had a lovely cosy log fire which made you forget it was -2 deegrees outside. We always make The Red Lion part of our visit to the area,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATEBEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Came here after it had been recommended by mum and dad who stayed a few years ago.. So glad we came.. It was a really welcome treat after a cold walk on the beach.. Good variety of wine's, and the warm welcoming fire was a bonus.. Came back the following day after nipping in for a drink the previous night and had lunch because the menu looked lovely.. So glad we did.. I had rare beef salad with pickled cauliflower and figs with a whiskey glaze..! Unusual combination but boy did it work..Absolutely delicious..Hubby had Coley and chips and peas and he hasn't stopped raving how tasty Coley is... Robyn our 10 year old had a chicken dinner and Jenny our 7 year old had sausage and chips...Followed by a massive portion of chocolate brownie desert with butterscotch sauce and a trio of icecreams... Eveyrthing was top notch - so tasty and very fresh.. Will definitely go again when were next in area...If your in Alnmouth - you must go...! We sat in the pub for our lunch.. but there is a restaurant if you prefer more formal dining...; but the pub next to the fire was Perfect... Thank you, Carlene.. x

Room Tip: Didn't stay - just ate..; but my mum and dad stayed and said it was beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlene_warman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I called here for a late lunch (3pm) and still serving! Wonderful!
Cosy atmosphere, friendly welcome, great selection of beers and real ales, super, well-cooked food. In fact, just about everything a good pub is all about. Plus - real fires to warm you.
The beef and ale pie was crammed with goodness, the portions sizeable. My wife has the mushroom tagliatelle which she thoroughly enjoyed.
As we live about 10 miles away, we shall be returning to sample more of the same!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fraser L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Four of us met for lunch at this pub and enjoyed an excellent welcome and meal. It's not an extensive bar menu but plenty to choose from and there's always a daily special. Real ale available as well which is a great big plus in my book, and more important dogs are allowed in the bar. The welcome, the lovely food and open fire in the bar makes this a pub worth visiting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasapiniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I together with a couple of friends enjoyed an evening meal here whilst we were staying in another property in Alnmouth. We dined in the Restaurant area and found the food great and the service excellent. The following day after a lovely circular walk to Lesbury and back we stopped off at the Red Lion for a lunchtime drink in the bar and a cooked meal which again we found to be most pleasant. Next time we visit Alnmouth we will be booking into the Red Lion without a shadow of a doubt..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
3.3 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,087 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
355 reviews
15.9 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
0 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: 22 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Alnmouth
Alnmouth Red Lion
Red Lion Alnmouth
Red Lion Inn Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing