We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm hostelry on a cold day”
Review of Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A warm hostelry on a cold day”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I called here for a late lunch (3pm) and still serving! Wonderful!
Cosy atmosphere, friendly welcome, great selection of beers and real ales, super, well-cooked food. In fact, just about everything a good pub is all about. Plus - real fires to warm you.
The beef and ale pie was crammed with goodness, the portions sizeable. My wife has the mushroom tagliatelle which she thoroughly enjoyed.
As we live about 10 miles away, we shall be returning to sample more of the same!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    59
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
41
126
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Four of us met for lunch at this pub and enjoyed an excellent welcome and meal. It's not an extensive bar menu but plenty to choose from and there's always a daily special. Real ale available as well which is a great big plus in my book, and more important dogs are allowed in the bar. The welcome, the lovely food and open fire in the bar makes this a pub worth visiting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasapiniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I together with a couple of friends enjoyed an evening meal here whilst we were staying in another property in Alnmouth. We dined in the Restaurant area and found the food great and the service excellent. The following day after a lovely circular walk to Lesbury and back we stopped off at the Red Lion for a lunchtime drink in the bar and a cooked meal which again we found to be most pleasant. Next time we visit Alnmouth we will be booking into the Red Lion without a shadow of a doubt..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My family (2 adults and 2 young children) had a lovely meal here on a cold Sunday evening in October. We arrived at 5.30pm and decided to eat in the small restaurant (24 covers?) instead of the bar area only because we needed more space for a highchair. The place was warm and cosy and the staff were all friendly and welcoming.
The food was delicious and our children were well catered for as well. They even brought my son a small bowl of peas (his favourite) even though they weren't on the children menu. All very thoughtful and much appreciated.
I don't think you can reserve tables in the restaurant unless you are staying at the Inn but if you get there early evening you'll be fine.
We would definitely go back and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozartonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here in August at the end of a five day walk from Berwick Upon Tweed. We had stayed here previously for a short break last February. It is a great hotel to stay at to explore this beautiful coastal town and the area. The rooms were excellent on both occasions and the breakfasts were perfect. We dined at the hotel and had an excellent meal with friends who joined us.
Alnmouth is a beautiful spot and I would have no hesitation in booking a room for a short stay at the Red Lion.

Room Tip: We like rooms five and six.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdaddy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We wanted to visit the Northumberland coast and so booked in at the Red Lion. What a wonderful inn, in a lovely village with a stunning coastline.
The various aspects of the inn can easily be categorised:
Accommodation: excellent. A comfortable room with shower, large bed, quiet.
Food: excellent. Quality meals each evening plus good breakfasts
Beer: something important to me - quality excellent, range excellent. Being able to try beers from breweries I'd never heard of, even better!
Service: excellent; all the staff were friendly and efficient, and couldn't do enough to help.
We quickly made the decision to go back next year and visit the places in the area we didn't get to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Pub and food review only. As a family on family holidays in the United Kingdom we take our dog with us. The Red Lion is perfect in this respect - family, dog friendly, good food, historic surroundings, ambience, caring staff and 200yds from the most brilliant beach. I do think some reviewers need to get a reality check, look at what the Red Lion is. It is not about cordon blue cooking (and never offers to be) but it is streets ahead of anywhere near, for the reasons I mentioned before.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denbydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
4.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,039 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Schooner Hotel
The Schooner Hotel
#11 of 11 in Alnmouth
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Property: Red Lion Inn
Address: 22 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Alnmouth
Alnmouth Red Lion
Red Lion Alnmouth
Red Lion Inn Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing