We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top notch pub grub and dog friendly too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“top notch pub grub and dog friendly too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We visit the Red Lion every time we come to Northumberland and have never been disappointed yet. The food in the bar is consistently excellent, especially the sea food. Nice beer garden round the back with views over the Aln estuary. Also has a small separate restaurant if you want to be a bit quieter than in the main bar.
Very dog friendly, you can take your dog into the bar and beer garden. What could be better after a walk on the beach?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    57
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
36
117
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
eltham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Don't wish to pour cold water on this well-run, attractive pub in the lovely High Street of Alnmouth. But don't expect more than pub-level food. Frankly, all our main courses were badly over-cooked; my wlfe's coley was borderline burned, my mum's chicken was tasteless and my pork belly was very weary. The quantities were gargantuan, which I don't find fun, suitable only for people who've completed very long walks/cycle rides or those wishing to become seriously obese. In fairness, elements were good; the redcurrant accompaniment to my pork belly was tangy and helped me to get through it; the roast vegetables had some flavour, vegetables often don't in restaurants; the sticky toffee pudding goo was scrummy but how could anyone eat so much? I left half and still woke up in the night feeling pogged. Fine place to get a tummy full of wholesome food, but I think some reviewers have confused this with it being a good restaurant..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We ate here a few times during our holiday in Alnmouth, lovely food (the crab, lime and chilli risotto was superb), reasonable prices, good company, good staff and they let dogs in the bar, what more could anyone ask? just wish it was nearer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archie503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Been using the Red Lion on holiday for several years. A nice unfussy place with good quality pub food menu and well kept beers. My favourite pub in Alnmouth by far.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kahjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a find in a lovely quiet and unspoilt village by the coast. We stayed at the Red Lion for 4 nights in the annexe - great room, plenty of space and we slept well every night - it was so peaceful. Lovely atmosphere in the pub, good food and staff very accommodating. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Annexe was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derbycounty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Good quality pub accommodation. Friendly staff, live music, good fun, nice evening food and breakfast - when in Northumberland you have to have the famous Craster kipper for breakfast, but even if you don't like kippers the full English here is excellent - and good quality real ale. And it doesn't cost an arm and a leg. A relaxed atmosphere like this is far better than uptight posh places.

Room Tip: if you want an early night the suite at the top is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfH_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel. We had a lovely stay, the staff were very welcoming. The locals were very friendly. The food was very good, with an excellent choice. On one of the nights that we stayed we did the quiz. We were helped with the quiz by some of the locals, it was very entertaining. We also stayed at the front facing, the room was very clean and welll worth the money.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front very quiet until the chimes went off but we loved this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalfordSalfordred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
2.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
4.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Property: Red Lion Inn
Address: 22 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Alnmouth
Alnmouth Red Lion
Red Lion Alnmouth
Red Lion Inn Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing