We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newburgh House - Coxwold
Ranked #1 of 3 Coxwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Warning- Do not hand over your credit card number when making the booking- we did, BIG MISTAKE. We booked a room with a double and a single bed in May for a 3 night stay in September. When we arrived to a very chilly welcome from Mrs Bell we found the single bed was an airbed! Worse still it had a puncture. Mrs Bell suggested we could pump it up and if that didn't work we would have to sleep in the double. This was not what we had booked and we decided to leave and find alternative accommodation. It was not until we were carrying our bags out that a replacement bed was offered.
On returning home after our holiday I found the full charge of £324 for the 3 nights accommodation and breakfast had been taken from my credit card account. A number of attempts to recover this money have proved to be fruitless. This leaves a sour taste in the mouth, however, we found an excellent B&B at Ryedale House in nearby Helmsley where we were looked after extremely well. If you are going to this part of the world go to Ryedale House and definitely not to Newburgh and remember the golden rule " never give your credit card number when booking accommodation!"

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newsuzy, Owner at Newburgh House - Coxwold, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

These ridiculous and inaccurate and comments are precisely why Hotels/Guest Houses request credit card details to confirm bookings !!

David C requested an extra bed in his room when booking one of our Premier rooms with a King sized bed. the extra bed, most favoured by previous guests is an expensive John Lewis ' 4' complete Divan Airbed ' which can be inflated to the firmness required by the guest..
A normal divan bed is available on request. Unfortunately on entering the bedroom with Mr & Mrs C , it was noticable that the airbed had lost pressure :- this obviously could be resolved.
Mrs C said on entering the room initially, that the King sized bed in the room was similar in size to the one which they used at home.
A short time later , because I was preparing dinner for other guests , I broke off to go and check with Mr & Mrs C , in order to help them regarding their sleeping arrangements. I was on my way upstairs and was met by a very angry rude, loud unreasonable Mr C - the likes of which I have not experienced in my many years in the hospitality industry . my offer to replace the airbed with a normal bed was refused and Mr C stormed out of the house with his wife following shortly after.
Fortunately we had a very charming couple( also from Somerset) already staying , who had really wanted a room with a walk-in shower as well as bath ...I moved them into Mr C's room for the rest of their stay . They were thrilled and said the room and facilities were wonderful.
With respect to all common mutual courtesy , Mr C should not have had the opportunity to degrade or affect the expectation of our standards of care to future customers .
It has been clearly demonstrated and reported over many years that we extend high standards of friendliness and care to our customers without prejudice .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 116 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

We surprised the owner who wasn't expecting us, but soon sorted things and warmed the room rapidly. Room overlooked the road but was quiet. The breakfast was good overlooking the garden. It is a beautiful house and would be beautiful in summer rather than November.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newsuzy, Owner at Newburgh House - Coxwold, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a positive review. much appreciated .
Good luck with your new magazine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just returned from one night at Newburgh house, it was beautiful, nothing is too much trouble for them.
Fabulous room, really comfy bed (we have already e-mailed the bed company for a price on their mattresses) and yummy breakfast.
Thank you Suzy, Colin and the lovely Maisie.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hellyEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Last year our daughter,s xmas present was a gift voucher for "The Finer Things in Life"
We finally got round to using the voucher in early November,and we chose a nights stay at Newburgh House,Coxwold in North Yorkshire,
This turned out to be a very pleasant stay in a lovely old house,very tastefully furnished and we felt very relaxed as soon as we arrived.
We were met by the owner Susie,who welomed us warmly and showed us to our room,which which was comfortably furnished and had a large bathroom.
Next morning we had a superb breakfast in a room overlooking the garden,the breakfast menu had many choices,our selection proved to be top quality ingredients,nicely presented and very tasty.
Our thanks to Susie,and we look forward to returning in the future

Room Tip: Our room.is set aside for people using the voucher from "The Finer Things in Life" and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A beautiful old character house and by far the most welcoming guest house we've been in; Suzy and Colin were just brilliant nothing was to much trouble; fantastic breakfasts; tips on sightseeing and restaurants and all round friendly hosts.we came here by default after not getting accomodation in York and was the best stroke of luck we've had in accommodation ever! we even stayed a couple of extra nights. Fully recommend Newburgh and the Bells to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room second on the right from the top of the stairs, quite, well furnished and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

You simply couldn't have a warmer welcome to a more beautiful place than this gorgeous roomy cosy house. Suzy and Colin Bell are charming and they make you feel as if you are staying in a friend's house. The rooms are huge (and wonderfully warm), the bathrooms gorgeous, and the breakfasts are utterly delicious. I would give six stars if I could, or even seven. Perfect.

Room Tip: We took all the rooms, as we were all members of our large family, so I saw each of the rooms and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this lovely old house, which is full of character, had spacious well-kept gardens and located in a quiet country area. The owners, Suzy and Colin were most welcoming and very friendly. Their local knowledge was amazing and very helpful to us.

The rooms were lovely, very well furnished, comfortable and clean, as was the whole house. Breakfasts were delicious and personal choices were always met. It is clear that the owners give much attention to detail.

We would recommend Newburgh House to anyone seeking a relaxing holiday and wishing to have a lovely, friendly place to stay. Bob & Liz

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank signatory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coxwold
0.6 mi away
Fauconberg Arms
Fauconberg Arms
#2 of 3 in Coxwold
294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Byland Abbey Inn
Byland Abbey Inn
#3 of 3 in Coxwold
84 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Thormanby
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Shallowdale House
Shallowdale House
#2 of 2 in Ampleforth
50 reviews
2.6 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newburgh House - Coxwold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newburgh House - Coxwold

Address: Coxwold YO61 4AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coxwold
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coxwold
Price Range: $127 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newburgh House - Coxwold 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newburgh House - Coxwold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newburgh House - Coxwold England - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing