We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
89
30
5
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
30
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurham oxoverlooking the gardenlocal countrysideeggs from their own henssecret recipehome baked biscuitslovely villagefauconberg armswhite company toiletriesan en suite bathroomtea traybooked a tablesitting roomspent two nightsattending a weddingcomfortable bedsweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 130 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights B&B with our dog accompanying us.We were all made most welcome.Newburgh House is the nicest house ever.The room was spotless as was the rest of the house and beautifully furnished throughout.The breakfast was really good with an amazing selection available,no need for lunch!Our host made recommendations for dinner at local pubs etc and we were not disappointed.The fresh Scampi at the Swan in Ampleforth was the best you could wish for!
Thank you to Colin & Suzy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights B&B with our dog accompanying us.We were all made most welcome.Newburgh House is the nicest house ever.The room was spotless as was the rest of the house and beautifully furnished throughout.The breakfast was really good with an amazing selection available,no need for lunch!Our host made recommendations for dinner at local pubs etc and we were not disappointed.The fresh Scampi at the Swan in Ampleforth was the best you could wish for!
Thank you to Colin & Suzy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Without doubt a1st class B&B from the moment you enter this superbly appointed house you are treated as though you are a house guest Our twin bedroom plus bathroom was spacious with the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in . Drinks in the drawing room before a well cooked supper (4course dinner available) taken in the oak furnished dining room were again excellent .Breakfast was taken in the breakfast room overlooking the walled garden with a view of all the wildlife outside accompanied by the full range of an English breakfast .Colin & Suzi are verywelcoming hosts and we will certainly return shortly Ken & Evelyn Munson

Room Tip: our room overlooked the garden and was very quiet
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvelynBreadsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

From the moment you arrive in Coxwold you have a sense of calm and tranquility and so it is with Newburgh House. Our room was clean and comfortable and looked out onto a beautifully cared for garden. I generally prefer a shower but perhaps it was because this was achill out break I took full advantage of our having a bath and relaxed listening to the quiet broken only by the sound of birds. The breakfast was excellent with a varied choice and again the garden to look out onto. If you are looking for somewhere away from the hectic schedule then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the back gardens.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights over a weekend for a wedding nearby and found the standard of accomodation to be nothing less than excellent. The house is set in a beautiful location and the owners were so very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.
The breakfast we had on each morning was as good as the best we have been offered anywhere.
We enjoyed 3 superb night sleep in a very large, very comfortable bed.
Without question, we would recommend this guest house to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickcoxwold46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews