We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
89
30
5
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
30
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurham oxoverlooking the gardenlocal countrysideeggs from their own henssecret recipehome baked biscuitslovely villagefauconberg armswhite company toiletriesan en suite bathroomtea traybooked a tablesitting roomspent two nightsattending a weddingcomfortable bedsweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 130 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

From the moment you arrive in Coxwold you have a sense of calm and tranquility and so it is with Newburgh House. Our room was clean and comfortable and looked out onto a beautifully cared for garden. I generally prefer a shower but perhaps it was because this was achill out break I took full advantage of our having a bath and relaxed listening to the quiet broken only by the sound of birds. The breakfast was excellent with a varied choice and again the garden to look out onto. If you are looking for somewhere away from the hectic schedule then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the back gardens.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights over a weekend for a wedding nearby and found the standard of accomodation to be nothing less than excellent. The house is set in a beautiful location and the owners were so very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.
The breakfast we had on each morning was as good as the best we have been offered anywhere.
We enjoyed 3 superb night sleep in a very large, very comfortable bed.
Without question, we would recommend this guest house to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickcoxwold46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from our third visit to Newburgh House and cannot thank Suzy and Colin enough for the superb breaks we have had in their wonderful home.
Peace, tranquility, comfort excellent food having been carefully sourced and very well prepared and presented make these breaks always eagerly anticipated.
We believe this to be a gem in North Yorkshire and look forward to our next visit.
Thank you once again Suzy and Colin

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DURHAMBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed for a 2 night mid-week "Stress-buster break" as advertised on their website. What a beautiful house this is! It doesn't feel like a hotel, more like someones family home that you havebeen lucky enough to be invited to share if only for a short time. We booked the room witha kingsize bed and what has to be the largest ensuite bathroom I have ever seen!!

The hosts, Suzie and Colin, are most welcoming and the food is superb. If you get chance to stay for dinner . . . .DO!! You won't be disappointed. Our grateful thanks for making our first wedding anniversary so special.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The owner Sue is one of those people that you hate saying goodbye to as just in a couple of days you feel very at home and relaxed and cared for. We had a very large comfortable, well-furnished bedroom overlooking the back garden and across the hall, a large bathroom to ourselves. Just loved sitting for breakfast at the dining room window looking across the back lawn and garden and watching the birds at the seed feeder and the squirrel sneaking some seed too. The breakfast choices were very good and beautifully cooked. Sue is proud and knowledgable of the area and helpful in pointing you in the right direction. We had arrived in the late afternoon after seeing Fountain Abbey and the next day took in Castle Howard and then York. We were there for two nights and the "pub dinner" recommendations at local establishments were very good. In no way could we fault this stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews