We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old inn, very peaceful location”
Review of Fauconberg Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fauconberg Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Coxwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Very hospitable family-run inn. Bedrooms well appointed, attractive separate dining room away from the bar where breakfasts/evening meals are served; or you can eat in the bar next to roaring log fire. Excellent home cooking and home-made ice cream with novel flavours well worth a long journey to sample. Set in a peaceful main street, easy parking. Very relaxing Easter break

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
Thank eltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 297 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2010

Arrived and were immediately offered breakfast. Rooms were spotless and very well set up. Breakfast was amazing. My husband asked for biggest breakfast available and was overwhelmed with what appeared on his plate - at no extra charge. The pub was fantastic, food was great and hospitality second to non. Everyone was really friendly and helpful. Maverick, our four legged travelling companion, was made to feel really welcome too, which was a big bonus. Would not hesitate to recommend the Fauconberg and will most certainly return for another visit. Incidentally the walks around the area were also fab!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anita1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Our stay at the Fauconberg Arm was from start to finish a delight. The service from this delighful family run inn was exceptional. The room was clean and comfortable, and not at all like we usually get when we book with a dog. We were even offered a dog bed in the room for our dog! The food in the restaurant is very hearty and tasty, and the breakfast was huge - whatever you do dont ask for a mega breakfast or you wont eat again for a week! We spent 2 nights at the inn, we enjoyed fantastic walking in the area, and a warm and relaxing stay at the inn. I cannot recommend this place highly enough - we will definately return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill9034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

A delightful country inn where delicious local food and quality service combine with the real welcome and comfort of a traditional pub. The owners make every effort to give their guests a stay to remember - we really appreciated their attention to detail and genuine hospitality and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hlw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I have eaten here on many occasions and hope that I will be going again soon. As the Fauconberg Arms is pretty local to me I have been there for not only to eat in the dining room and for supper in the lounge bar, but to birthday parties and funeral teas. Friends went for Christmas lunch .We missed out on Burns Night which we hear had been a marvellous 6 courses meal. Valentines night they made so much effort and to finish the meal off we were given a glass of raspberry liquor which we hadn't expected and a lovely gesture. Belly pork with cider apples is a favorite of mine there .While the surf and turf - a combination of scampi,bacon and black pudding comes a near second. Not only is the food excellent -it is properly cooked and sourced locally without a lot of fuss and fancy names on menus . Portion sizes are generous and plates nearly licked clean as it is so tasty,but it cant go without being said that it has such a welcoming and warm interior in every sense of the words. The family who run it have got it right and it shows in their attitude in what they have created. It is not just bums on seats and take your money . It is come in ,welcome and have a good time and enjoy because they actually enjoy you too which is a rare commodity in this day and age. A true Yorkshire welcome .

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Englandsixpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in this lovely traditional pub. The food was great and we sat by a roaring open fire. The staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough for us which made our stay all the more relaxing! We would definitely recommend this pub if you want a cosy evening !

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Tiny, shabby and overpriced accommodation. Much better is available in the vicinity at similar prices. The prices quoted on the web site are misleading. Avoid if possible.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cimbalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coxwold
6.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newburgh House - Coxwold
2 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Stapylton Arms
1.4 mi away
Byland Abbey Inn
Byland Abbey Inn
#3 of 3 in Coxwold
84 reviews
1.7 mi away
Plum & Partridge
Plum & Partridge
#1 of 1 in Husthwaite
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauconberg Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauconberg Arms

Address: Thirsk Bank, Coxwold YO61 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coxwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coxwold
Price Range: $109 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fauconberg Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilson Family warmly welcomes you to The Fauconberg ArmsFamily pets, cosy country inn log fires, evenings of music, relaxing location, beautifully appointed guest rooms, local, fresh good quality food with a contemporary Fauconberg twist and a deep sense of historical roots. These are some of the ingredients that come together to create the enjoyable guest house experience that is The Fauconberg Arms in North Yorkshire.Our beautiful 17th century country inn is full of charm, character and history, and offers quality en-suite guest accommodation, first-rate food and entertainment...all set in the picturesque village of Coxwold amidst the rolling green countryside of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors and National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fauconberg Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauconberg Arms Hotel Coxwold
Fauconberg Arms Coxwold, England - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing