We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every element of our stay was of the highest quality and standard.”
Review of Fauconberg Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fauconberg Arms
Ranked #3 of 3 Coxwold B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Every element of our stay was of the highest quality and standard.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

It was my partners birthday and as a treat booked the room with four poster bed.the whole stay was superb,the room food surroundings and most of all the staff who made us so welcome.cant wait to go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinyburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    52
    24
    9
    17
See reviews for
38
154
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Absolutely fabulous!

We booked at the last moment for a group of seven and two dogs. All the staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly and efficient for both the two legged or four legged guests.

Good atmosphere, good food and good fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have to agree with the reviewer, Brown 9932. This is an excellent family-run, pet-friendly inn. It serves wonderful food, and has a great variety of entertainment. I live just six miles away - the title I have given this review says it all. My wife and I visit the Fauconberg as often as we can, because we can be sure of superb food, excellent company and a very warm welcome from Helen, Simon and their staff. If you do not like pets in a pub, do not visit the Fauconberg - there are other pubs and inns in the area, though none as good as the Fauconberg. A few - only a few! - reviewers seem to have found that the standards are not good enough when it comes to cleanliness and hygiene. I have visited the inn on many occasions, and have never once had to complain about either - the place always looks as bright and clean as a new pin!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just had a fantastic summer weekend at The Fauconberg Arms. On Friday night our family and several friends converged at the pub to enjoy a fabulous evening of Theatre and food. This entrepreneurial family combine their main skills as fine hosts and foodies, with dramatic flair by liaising with local theatre companies to deliver a magnificent programme of theatre, arts and entertainment. On friday night the ever growing reputation of Simon and Helen's empire attracted another 5 star Edinburgh Fringe award show ''The Bridge That Tom Built'' by Dominic Allen. A sold out audience gave the first ever standing ovation to a play in the pub that we have seen.A simply fantastic show. Prior to the show, our family friends enjoyed a superb ''Chatter Platter'' of superb food and nibbles. The innovation by pub is a great wy to dine out with friends over a few drinks and a lot of laughs, especially as part of such a theatrical evening. In our view this is also good value for money. The Fauconberg Arms has everything that is good about an English country pub. Great hosts, great ambience and great local food. For the landlords to diversify and collaborate so creatively shows vision, confidence and determination to maintain the pub at the centre of village life. This was enhanced again on Saturday with a great summer barbecue. Once again entertainment flourished to a packed garden audience, with 4 local bands and artists entraining us until nearly midnight. The pub family and staff once again pulled out all the stops, even in themed costumes, to provide an outstanding buffet and barbecued meats, and veggie options. This pub is buzzing and a great place to be. It is noted that the Fauconberg Arms is mentioned last week in the Yorkshire Post, The York Press and was recommended on Radio York. It does not surprise me that The Fauconberg Arms is nominated for Yorkshire Life Pub Of The Year. Good luck to them for this, they deserve this accolade. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas_Craggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had 2 night stay. Spacious bedroom was lovely. Liked the washbasin in the room rather squeezing it into the en-suite, it didn't look obtrusive which is what I worried about.
Very friendly and helpful.
The food was good (local lamb excellent) but dined in the bar second night as there was a performance of a play from Edinburgh fringe in the dining room later. That was ok as the play was enjoyable and an added bonus. The pub seems to organize various entertainments which I give them credit for - just go with the flow and enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hebrides
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I booked a room two months in advance for a family wedding and paid a deposit. A couple of weeks before the event (on a bank holiday weekend) the hotel phoned to say I was double booked. They blamed it on a change in IT system and found me other accommodation in a B&B in the village. They offered a free stay on another occasion but as I am seldom in England this was useless and only added insult to injury. I was very angry but accepted that a mistake can occasionally happen.
What I cannot forgive is that two other couples at the B&B, also guests at the wedding, had also been double booked by Fauconberg and re located. One lady had even phoned a couple of weeks after booking to check her reservation. Staff at the B&B indicated that it was a common occurrence.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank laceladyHebrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fauconberger, Owner at Fauconberg Arms, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Mistakes happen and when they do we do our very best to put things right. On this occasion when we realised a double booking had occured due to an error with an on line system we not only found the reviewer alternative accomodation within the village but also offered a complimentary stay. We are sorry that the reviewer is unable to take us up on this offer but feel that we have done all that we can under the circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I went out of my way to go to this pub whilst I was returning to Leeds from a trip out to the Howardian Hills because i had heard good things about it and its website says it serves food all day. By that it seems that for several hours in the afternoon it offers an overpriced cream scone. This is very misleading because any other pub stating it serves food all day normally means they serve a full range menu all day not just a scone and a packet of crisps. Like the other contributor when i went mid afternoon there were 4 or 5 people sat outside but the rest of the pub was deserted on both sides of the counter. I found a cat stretched out on a chair in what looked like the main bar and i have to say being allergic to cats that put me off right away and who knows how clean they are or where they have been. For the same reason the fact they allow dogs in the bedrooms would put me off staying there , who knows what kind of bugs they might leave behind. Its a nice old pub but the lady who thinks its a top pub needs to get out and about more because its far from that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fauconberger, Owner at Fauconberg Arms, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are very greatful to this reviewer for helping us highlight the fact that we are pet friendly and if you share the reviewers views then the Fauconberg is not for you. I have already stated in previous responses with regards our two resident pets and our Hygiene policy and also feel that the reviews from guests that have actually stayed with us are far more representative of the truth.
To be clear on our food service we serve breaskfast until 10am. Morning coffee tea and snacks until 12.30. Lunch through to 2.30 and Afternoon tea between 3 and 6 when we commence dinner service until late. We do serve outside of these times by prior arrangement. We are family run and have to take a few minutes break now and again.
Our home made scones with jam and cream are £2.00 with homemade cakes and biscuits from £1.50. The menu changes on a daily basis.We do offer full afternoon tea with sandwiches, cakes and scones for a three hour period.
We will be highlighting on our website that the main menu is not served all day except by prior arrangement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coxwold
6.8 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,595 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
732 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
16.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,300 reviews
1.6 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauconberg Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauconberg Arms

Property: Fauconberg Arms
Address: Thirsk Bank, Coxwold YO61 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coxwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coxwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fauconberg Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilson Family warmly welcomes you to The Fauconberg ArmsFamily pets, cosy country inn log fires, evenings of music, relaxing location, beautifully appointed guest rooms, local, fresh good quality food with a contemporary Fauconberg twist and a deep sense of historical roots. These are some of the ingredients that come together to create the enjoyable guest house experience that is The Fauconberg Arms in North Yorkshire.Our beautiful 17th century country inn is full of charm, character and history, and offers quality en-suite guest accommodation, first-rate food and entertainment...all set in the picturesque village of Coxwold amidst the rolling green countryside of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors and National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fauconberg Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauconberg Arms Hotel Coxwold
Fauconberg Arms Coxwold, England - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing