We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“last minute treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fauconberg Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fauconberg Arms
Ranked #3 of 3 Coxwold B&B and Inns
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“last minute treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

hubby and i decided last minute to come here on our way to an overnite stay nearby.food was exceptional, well presented and very tasty.lots to choose from, after very good starters hubby had calves liver and caramelised onions and i had steak and mushroom pie,accompanied by hand cut chips and fresh vegetables, both from the specials board.hubby managed a sweet but not me.all in all a well cooked and very tasty meal with very good service. would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    48
    23
    8
    14
See reviews for
33
146
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were delighted to find such a nice hidden gem away from the main road. We booked the accommodation without any recommendation as it was available on an Easter weekend and simply expected it to be average, to our delight it was exceptionally nice, and the staff could not have been more inviting or friendly. The restaurant though small was charming and the menu and specials would satisfy everyone, all four of us could not praise the food enough. The rooms where nice and large with a very modern en suite, and the decor newly renovated to an superior standard. We intend to go back very soon and once again enjoy another weekend away from the hustle and bustle of Helmsley.

Room Tip: Chose one of the superior rooms, well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had not stayed here since the change of ownership and the refurbishment. One night in a very cold March. The four poster room was very pleasant, if a little lacking in lighting. Dined in the bar. Food was good. Breakfast the next morning could have been a little better, perhaps it was a consequence of so few guests. Overall a very pleasant short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a night for one of the Fauconberg's play nights (a small drama production was put on in the dining room). We ate before the production in the pub, scampi and chips, which was delicious. There was music later on in the bar and a good atmosphere. There was a good choice of beer and wine at the bar. Our room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our cooked breakfast. The interior of the pub itself it lovely, cosy with wooden floorboards and open fires. The service was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gezkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went for lunch last weekend had the chatter platter its a ideal sharing platter everything from freshly battered fish to steak which was cooked very good, nice warm fire excellent service, have eaten here for Sunday lunch as well which was just as good, wish it was our local village pub always a warm friendly welcome. Ideal in summer (if we ever get one) to sit outside in this lovely village.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
501 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have passed this hostelry many times ,but never at the right time...to-day was different it was lunch time. We were warmly greeted by staff and by a roaring log fire. The menu was great and the special of '' 3 piggies pie '' sounded great but when told it was ham,bacon and sausage served with chips and veg we passed ...we are getting too old for big meals. We settled on locally caught haddock in beer batter served with chips and peas. This meal was also enormous and absolutely delicious. We saw a fellow diner with the pie and knew we had made the correct decision. We were offered the sweet menu , pear and almond crumble with chocolate sauce sounded yummy but we know our capacity. Gentlemen check out the loos ,an art gallery for the conisoeur.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Only stayed one night with my wife on a stopover but would have happily stayed longer. A very warm welcome, excellent & friendly service, superb pub food, a comfortable, clean room in a lovely Yorkshire village pub with good beer. All followed the next morning with a hearty, freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice. What more could you ask for? Would happily return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmrob11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coxwold
6.8 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
6.6 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
5.4 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
1.6 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauconberg Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauconberg Arms

Property: Fauconberg Arms
Address: Thirsk Bank, Coxwold YO61 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coxwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coxwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fauconberg Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilson Family warmly welcomes you to The Fauconberg ArmsFamily pets, cosy country inn log fires, evenings of music, relaxing location, beautifully appointed guest rooms, local, fresh good quality food with a contemporary Fauconberg twist and a deep sense of historical roots. These are some of the ingredients that come together to create the enjoyable guest house experience that is The Fauconberg Arms in North Yorkshire.Our beautiful 17th century country inn is full of charm, character and history, and offers quality en-suite guest accommodation, first-rate food and entertainment...all set in the picturesque village of Coxwold amidst the rolling green countryside of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors and National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fauconberg Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauconberg Arms Hotel Coxwold
Fauconberg Arms Coxwold, England - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing