We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burns Night weekend”
Review of Fauconberg Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fauconberg Arms
Ranked #3 of 3 Coxwold B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Burns Night weekend”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have just returned from a brilliant weekend at the Fauconberg Arms. The family who own it could not have been more welcoming. It has a great atmosphere, the food was superb, especially the Burns Night dinner. The heavy snowfall made it even better, especially when the owners provided us with sledges! The location is stunning, ideal for walking and great to come back to a real fire and a glass of real ale or afternoon tea and cakes. I don't suppose we could get the snow again on request but nothing else was too much trouble for the staff. I would highly recommend it (I was tempted not to so that it stays a secret), we'll definitely go back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jools531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    52
    24
    9
    17
See reviews for
38
154
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

It isnt luxurious but it is comfortable and nice. Good food amiable owners and a lovely location. Bits of it are somtimes a little creaky but its done with elegance and charm so really nothing to complain about. I will happily stay again. Showers hot with decent pressure Food really good again not fancy but just right.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nothing to fault - and everything to praise. It all starts with friendly staff, a good inn atmosphere, and an excellent pint of real ale. The feel good factor grows as the accommodation is of a high standard and made as comfortable as possible. And the evening meal was perfect in a lovely dining room. Only a one-night-stand this first visit, but it will be much longer for our next occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Another recommendation from the Good Pub Guide 2013 and rather handy as it’s a short walk to Newburgh Priory.

The entrance to this pub is like someone’s hall, there’s space for your coats and walking boots and then it’s through to the cosy bar. As it was lunchtime, we settled for a pot of tea . We’d had a big breakfast so weren’t hungry but the delicious smelling lunches they were taking through to the restaurant were tempting, especially the huge Yorkshire Puddings!

Service was a little slow perhaps but other than that, it was a great place to stop and take a breather.

It's a good pit-stop in a beautiful village close to the attractions of Bylands Abbey, Newburgh Priory and the Kilburn White Horse.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinAndJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at the Fauconberg Arms. Helen was not only very welcoming, but very interesting too. The service was excellent, the food very good and the room extremely comfortable and very well presented. My only very slight niggle was that I would have liked a mirror in the room, other than the one in the bathroom, but a very small point which certainly did not detract from what was a very pleasant stay. Wish it could have been longer!!

Room Tip: We had the Thixendale room, which was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviebcycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just had a fantastic new year break at the Fauconberg Arms , and the best New Year party , the Buffett was Incredible and the musical entertainment first class Helen and her team could not have made us more welcome nothing was too much trouble and the food was top class.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHLEAGUNDOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

16 of us had our riding club Christmas dinner here last night. The food was absolutely delicious - really generous portions, beautifully presented and piping hot, all delivered together and the service was spot on. Everyone enjoyed it a lot and hopefully we will be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coxwold
6.8 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Helmsley
1,595 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 5 in Helmsley
732 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
16.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,300 reviews
1.6 mi away
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Kilburn
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fauconberg Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauconberg Arms

Property: Fauconberg Arms
Address: Thirsk Bank, Coxwold YO61 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coxwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coxwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fauconberg Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilson Family warmly welcomes you to The Fauconberg ArmsFamily pets, cosy country inn log fires, evenings of music, relaxing location, beautifully appointed guest rooms, local, fresh good quality food with a contemporary Fauconberg twist and a deep sense of historical roots. These are some of the ingredients that come together to create the enjoyable guest house experience that is The Fauconberg Arms in North Yorkshire.Our beautiful 17th century country inn is full of charm, character and history, and offers quality en-suite guest accommodation, first-rate food and entertainment...all set in the picturesque village of Coxwold amidst the rolling green countryside of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors and National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fauconberg Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauconberg Arms Hotel Coxwold
Fauconberg Arms Coxwold, England - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing