We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little find”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lahney Cottage

The lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge
Through to the kitchen The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The lounge
Through to the kitchen
The kitchen
The lounge and up the stairs
The comfy kingsize bed
The bathroom
Down the Cleveland Way to the village
Glorious Staithes!
The High Street at night
Onwards to the pub and the harbour!
Duck!
Full moon over the beck
T'other side
The bridge between two counties
The Staithes Lobster
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gail_hibl...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in a beautiful village. I love staithes and vist each year if possible. This is a lovely cottage with everything you could want for a little home away from home. We had a little problem with something - completely us being idiots not being able to work something, but Eva who lives close by came round stright away to sort it for us. Couldn't have asked her do anything more.

On arrival we found a welcome pack left for us, milk, bread and butter you don't need to take anything except your clothes.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was just right for us
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2016
Thank you so much for your review Gail, I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay and I hope we'll see you back soon :-)
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon :-)
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Angela H
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what was needed”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage by the sea.
Quaint well equipped with everything you could possibly need for a short break.
Very comfortable bed for a good nights sleep following the perfect walks we had with the dogs.
1 minute walk from a great pub 'Cod & Lobster' with good food at reasonable price and good Yorkshire beer. Equally nice pub 2 minutes walk down the cobble street 'The George', all dog friendly for well behaved dogs like mine!
I loved this place so much, having spent 2 nights here with a very dear friend I drove straight back again to spend a further 3 nights with my Boyfriend!
I would recommend Lahney Cottage as a wonderful, relaxing place to escape the stresses of every day life. I will most definately be back.

Date of stay: March 2016
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review Angela, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Lahney Cottage. I hope you will come back and visit again soon!
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have nothing but positives!

Such a quaint cosy cottage looking out along the cliffs, in the oldy-wordly village setting. The pubs and restaurants were lovely and the locals are so friendly. It truly is somewhere to get away and forget about life for a bit. I would recommend it and have recommended to to all my family and friends. I highly suggest you enquire!

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2016
I am so pleased you like our cottage Katie, thank you so much for your lovely review, and I hope we will see you back again soon :-)
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Relaxing Long Weekend”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I really needed to get away from it all and Lahney Cottage gave us everything we needed. A comfortable bed, a kitchen with everything you need, a nice sitting room, WiFi and wood burning fire to boot!

The cottage is a few short strides from the harbour and beach. The dogs loved walking there.

The village of Staithes has two lovely pubs near the cottage which serve great food.

Staithes is a great place to use as a base to visit nearby Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay and other places along the coast and inland.

We will definitely visit Staithes and Lahney Cottage again.

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words Graham , I am so glad you like the cottage, and I hope we will see you back again soon!
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellor201...
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend in Staithes”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Brilliant service from Eva giving accurate and detailed instructions on parking and how to find the cottage. Eva arranged the parking for us. We found the cottage easily. Excellent in every way - cosy and warm; comfy sofas and very comfy bed with pretty bedlinen. Cottage has been sympathetically decorated. Fantastic wood-burning stove. Well-equipped kitchen. Everything in fact you might need for a relaxing break!
The cottage is 2 minutes walk from the Cod and Lobster at the harbour which serves great food and beer.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I m so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon!
Best wishes
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing