We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well appointed cottage handy for harbour,beach...”
other travelers have booked this property
Originally a fisherman's cottage, fully renovated and restored!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Originally a fisherman's cottage, fully renovated and restored!
New and very well equipped, this kitchen is bright and airy. Lovely sitting area, cosy and comfortable with log fire and good heating. Logs provided
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Originally a fisherman's cottage, fully renovated and restored!
New and very well equipped, this kitchen is bright and airy.
Lovely sitting area, cosy and comfortable with log fire and good heating. Logs provided
Ground floor bedroom with ensuite bathroom with corner bath.  Hairdryer and toiletries provided.
Ground floor double bedroon
Lower ground floor twin bedded room Beds 6ft6 x 3ft!
Lower ground floor bedroom leading to good sized corner  shower en suite
Sitting area, leading on to the kitchen
Pretty patio garden, gets the sun all day in summer. Room for barbeque (provided) and sunbeds too!
Staithes on Lifeboat Day.
Just a few minutes walk away.
Staithes harbour at full tide. Fishing trips available.
Take a picnic basket from the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan T
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well appointed cottage handy for harbour,beach and walks.”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had a great holiday, easy to relax but plenty to do in glorious weather.
Owner provided very helpful information and advice.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Thank you, pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Break”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time. The accommodation was lovely with everything you would need for a stay with teenagers (WiFi, movies etc)! A lovely relaxing break in a fantastic location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2016
Thank you, pleased the whole family enjoyed their stay!
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quirky and Comfortable”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a weekend in the Long House. The cottage is ideally located to wander the streets of Staithes and it is difficult to imagine a better equipped cottage. The layout is quirky and my daughters were so taken with the downstairs accommodation they could be found proudly tidying a few times a day .. not something we see at home. The upstairs was a comfortable and friendly space to relax and eat. Great stock of games and jigsaws and loads of TV's! We even managed to take advantage of the movies through the Now Tv box. I recommend going in search of the Staithes illusions .. we found them all and in the process walked every alleyway and yard and saw every part of Staithes.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2016
Well this review had me laughing , especially the bit about your daughters tidying up!
We do try to make sure you have everything you need and have something to do if it rains!
Pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I haven't done the illusions walk myself but will do!
Thanks
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillLord1...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very comfortable and well equipped cottage. Ideally situated in Staithes which is a beautiful village

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the cottage and the overall high spec
Liked least: Perhaps the living area carpet needs refreshing a number of stains.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2015
Thank you, we do say to our guests 'don't bring the kitchen sink with you' most of the things you need are already here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanlink
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful! lovely well equipped cottage in a great harbour village”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for a week and didn't want to leave! the cottage was immaculate and well equipped, as well as nicely decorated with pictures and ornaments, lovely bed linen and curtains etc, so if felt really cosy and welcoming. I particularly liked the little garden where I sat out to eat and read/sew in peace, once I got used to the inevitable sea gulls - it is the sea side after all! Staithes is every bit as charming as its reputation, and the people were friendly and relaxed in all the shops and pubs/cafes, the food good, and watching the sea seems to make you calm down, even if it's quite rough! The hills are worth climbing for the amazing views, just wish I'd taken my binoculars to look at the birds more closely. Lovely relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole atmosphere of calm and welcome.
Liked least: I liked everything
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
Thank you ,Longhouse is just very relaxing, and the garden is a bonus, it is tucked out of the way, quite sheltered and gets the sun.
Pleased you enjoyed both the house and our lovely little village.
Kind regards, Jane Cooper
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing