We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect base to explore the area!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of High Winds

High Winds Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Winds Cottage
Our open plan living area The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
High Winds Cottage
Our open plan living area
The kitchen
The lounge area
The dining area
The master bedroom
The twin room
The bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ValtteriK...
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A perfect base to explore the area!”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We love Staithes and this is the fourth different cottage in which we have stayed. We can't fault High Winds - it was just perfect for us! The cottage is charming and well equipped and in a perfect location in the centre of the village. It is ideal for a couple, but also plenty big enough for several children (or another couple) as well, since it has two bedrooms - the master is quite large with a very comfortable king size bed. The cottage has all the creature comforts, including a wood burner, and also has reasonable speed WiFi broadband - a must for staying in touch as most mobile networks have no coverage in the village. Cap it off with a very friendly owner in Eva and you have the full package! We have no hesitation in highly recommending High Winds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cosiness and facilities
Liked least: Lack of outside space (not really a problem though!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words, I am so glad you enjoyed the cottage and hope to see you again soon!
All the best, Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millie M
2 reviews
“Couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I think it's fair to say that when I look for a cottage to stay in for a break, I am quite fussy! This cottage was all that I dreamt it would be. Nicely tucked away and beautifully kitted out! You'll find everything that you need at the cottage, both in appliances and charm.
Cosy up by the log burner in the lounge on chilly evenings or cosy up in the kingsize bed in the huge bedroom on the top floor.
Eva, the owner was excellent with her communication via e-mail and phone.
Staithes is a small village with plenty to offer, walks along the beach and the headland gave us fabulous views out to sea. Friendly (dog friendly) pubs gave us great food too.
We took food and booze provisions with us and left our car in the car park at the top of the hill. We didn't use the car again until the day that we left to come home. A real escape!
Be sure to seek out the 8 3D paintings that are hidden in the village - we didn't want to cheat, but had to ask the locals to put us out of our misery when we couldn't find the last two!! Lol - we were wandering around the village like a couple of children on a treasure hunt!!

We had a fabulous break and only wished that we had booked for the full week. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So many things, log burner, kingsize bed, great kitchen, the welcome pack
Liked least: That we hadn't booked for longer!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2015
I am so glad that you all had such a great time, it was an absolute pleasure to have you staying at our cottage, and I hope you will be back soon. Eva x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete H
Shipley, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, quiet and well-equipped nook by the sea.”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at High Winds for our mini-moon! Eva was very kind and even left us a little something to celebrate with! Comfortable, quiet, cosy, with a very comfy double bed in the loft bedroom. The kitchen was amply equipped, and despite being billed as dog-friendly the place was immaculate and didn't smell of dogs at all, something I am sometimes concerned about. Thanks!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at High Winds, thank you for your kind words, and I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey K
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage - warm homely feeling”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 nights during half term , just what was needed to re-charge my husbands battery's . Lovely refreshing walks and fabulous local pubs with entertaining locals full of story's about Staithes . The wifi was excellent for our teenage daughter and her friend who holidayed with us ( lost without Facebook !!) plus we could face time our son whom was enjoying our house alone , as phone signal was zilch ..... Over all , fantastic value for money , ideal location and a must for total relaxation ....... Cosy cosy cottage ..... We will return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Early check out / late check in
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your time at High Winds, and that everything was to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorikmum
Thornton Hough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was everything we needed. The beds are comfortable, the bathroom better than most we have experienced and the kitchen has been well equipped for the holiday. The meals at the George Pub are welcome after a day's walking. We shall certainly be back. Great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2014
Hi Brian, many thanks for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to be able to welcome you to High Winds again soon! Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satchel20...
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointing getaway”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

No actual sea view from cottage car parking not suitable for anyone with disabilities (asthmatics) not informed of parking charges untill after booking informed on day of arrival painter still there cottage equipped but cramped stayed 1 night out of 4 informed owner disappointed no offer of refund

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the scenery form top of village
Liked least: actual location of cottage no sea view very close to cottage at front and high brick wall in very small yard at back
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
I am sorry to hear you were so disappointed with the cottage, and actually rather surprised to hear you say so, as the message you left on my phone said that the cottage was lovely! In response to your comments, we do not and never have advertised the cottage as having sea views, as that would indeed be untrue. People with disabilities do tend to do more research before going somewhere new, unfortunately you didn't mention anything to me in your enquiry, so I was unaware of your asthma. As I explained in my message the day before you were due to arrive, the painter was supposed to have finished. He was only painting the outside, and in fact I believe he wasn't there anyway while you were, due to the bad weather. Staithes is an old fishing village, so the majority of the cottages are small, I have never before received a complaint about it being cramped, and as there were just the two of you, I would have thought there was ample room. I don't really know what else to say, your comments when you left were just about your asthma and not being able to cope with the big hill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakshmi L
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“chill-out and relax”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

An amazing getaway for the weekend or a holiday. Lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful location with excellent facilities including wood burning stove. Amazing pubs and local butchers. Great base for exploring with children and pet friendly too x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: noisy seagulls!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! So glad you had a good time, and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon! Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing