We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of High Winds

High Winds Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Winds Cottage
Our open plan living area The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
High Winds Cottage
Our open plan living area
The kitchen
The lounge area
The dining area
The master bedroom
The twin room
The bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
yorikmum
Thornton Hough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was everything we needed. The beds are comfortable, the bathroom better than most we have experienced and the kitchen has been well equipped for the holiday. The meals at the George Pub are welcome after a day's walking. We shall certainly be back. Great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2014
Hi Brian, many thanks for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to be able to welcome you to High Winds again soon! Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satchel20...
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointing getaway”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

No actual sea view from cottage car parking not suitable for anyone with disabilities (asthmatics) not informed of parking charges untill after booking informed on day of arrival painter still there cottage equipped but cramped stayed 1 night out of 4 informed owner disappointed no offer of refund

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the scenery form top of village
Liked least: actual location of cottage no sea view very close to cottage at front and high brick wall in very small yard at back
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
I am sorry to hear you were so disappointed with the cottage, and actually rather surprised to hear you say so, as the message you left on my phone said that the cottage was lovely! In response to your comments, we do not and never have advertised the cottage as having sea views, as that would indeed be untrue. People with disabilities do tend to do more research before going somewhere new, unfortunately you didn't mention anything to me in your enquiry, so I was unaware of your asthma. As I explained in my message the day before you were due to arrive, the painter was supposed to have finished. He was only painting the outside, and in fact I believe he wasn't there anyway while you were, due to the bad weather. Staithes is an old fishing village, so the majority of the cottages are small, I have never before received a complaint about it being cramped, and as there were just the two of you, I would have thought there was ample room. I don't really know what else to say, your comments when you left were just about your asthma and not being able to cope with the big hill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakshmi L
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“chill-out and relax”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

An amazing getaway for the weekend or a holiday. Lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful location with excellent facilities including wood burning stove. Amazing pubs and local butchers. Great base for exploring with children and pet friendly too x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: noisy seagulls!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! So glad you had a good time, and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon! Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margyw47
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first stay in the cottage, although we visit staithes regularly. Cosy, comfy, everything you need (including a complimentary bottle of wine) The double bedroom was very big and the king size bed ensured a good nights sleep. The kitchen was small but well equipped. Probably the only thing I would suggest would be the provision of a hair dryer which most cottages seem to do (it is a bulky item to have to bring for a few days). Apart from that a cottage i would be happy to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bed
Liked least: the shower (not very powerful,)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2014
Many thanks for your review, Margaret, I am so glad you enjoyed our cottage! Good point about the hair dryer, it had never occurred to me as I don't use one. I shall make sure there is one in the cottage for your next visit. Hope to see you again soon.
Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing