We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional cottage with fabulous view.”
other travelers have booked this property
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017 Here's the view in the summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
63 reviews
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017
Here's the view in the summer
Our sitting room
Open fire makes all the difference!
The view on a Mediterranean blue-sky day down the beck from the front door
Our cottages are the location for the new BBC series Old Jack's Boat starring Bernard Cribbins
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea - we've got the only lawn in the village!
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea?
Wake up to this view
One of the most photographed and painted views in England is the view from our seat
The three cottages - No5 is on the left hand side
Artists regularly stay and paint from here - even the interior of the cottage
We discovered this Gill Carter painting by chance in a York gallery - the view from our sitting room
Looking over the lobster pots - view of the cottages up the beck from the staith
Sunset over Cowbar Nab behind the cottages
Dawn over the beck looking from the cottages
Wild water at the bottom of the beck
Staithes from the fields above
Sunset over Staithes looking north
We are at 5 Cowbar Bank, Staithes, TS13 5BZ
Bedroom
Spot the cottage from the other side of the village
They say this is one of the best views in England - the cottage is on the left just above the bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie S
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Traditional cottage with fabulous view.”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Nice clean cottage, just exactly as the reviews described . Real fire and nice size bedroom. Yes you can hear people next door but that's because it used to be one house and to be honest it didn't bother us at all . We were either sat in front of the roaring fire, or on the bench outside snuggled up with a glass of wine looking down the hill to the wonderful view. ( Or in one of the dog friendly pubs !) Everywhere is dog friendly and so are the locals who live there and share their village with us tourists. I'll definitely go back to Staithes and when I do I'll come back to this lovely fisherman's cottage .

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax7389...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best UK holiday -in fact best hol full stop. ”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

5 Fisherman’s Cottages is our favourite place to stay in the whole world. It is beyond cosy, with a real fire, comfy bed and WiFi (if you want it) but best of all is the view, the sound of the seagulls in the morning, and the fact it’s a minutes walk to Staithes village. This cottage is always very clean and welcoming, it’s our third year here and once again we are heartbroken to leave. I would highly recommend a stay here. Thank you very much.

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2017
Thanks Lucy - we are delighted to welcome you and your daughter every year. SO pleased the cottage was as clean and cosy and the village as good as you remembered. Please come again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwembregt...
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded all our expectations!”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this cottage for three weeks and we had the best time ever! The location is out of this world and the views are amazing. The cottage is small, but very cosy and has everything you need, including reliable wifi. Very clean too.
We enjoyed the clifftop walks as well as the moorland walks. Best of both worlds in fact. Staithes is a lovely little village, which gets a only bit crowded during weekends, but at other times it is very peaceful and quiet. Nothing can beat a cup of coffee on the bench in the morning with the lovely views across the beck! We wondered if three weeks in the same location might be a bit too long, but there was plenty to see and do and we were very sorry we had to leave after three weeks.

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2017
Staithes has a quality which I can only describe as 'je-ne-sais-quoi' where the more time you spend there, the more time you want to spend there. It keep pulling you back. You found it too! SO delighted to hear you loved your stay, and thank you for all the lovely things you say about the cottage. We would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didgeandm...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic, just fantastic!”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The most amazing cottage ever. Very clean. Fanatic location. A real gem. Very well equipped kitchen. Comfortable lounge with lovely open fire for warming up at night. Very comfortable bed and nice bathroom with shower cubicle. Bench outside cottage with fanatic views of the village, beach and harbour. Ideal for a cappucino or glass of wine. Parking outside. Reliable wi-fi. Just can't fault the cottage. Staithes is lovely. Very peaceful and relaxing, a much slower pace of life. Everywhere is dog friendly which was important to us. Just made a fanatic 30th wedding anniversary break and we will defenitley be returning soon.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Thank you for the most wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Staithes is a lovely place to celebrate those important occasions - plenty to see and do, but also a good place for quiet reflection.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHpocketr...
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect seaside venue”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Fishermans cottage no. 5 for 3 days and loved it. The best bit was the really comfy bed with crisp linen sheets and gorgeous view over Staithes to the cliffs and sea. The only advise I would give potential al visitors is that the cottage does have low ceilings and a small shower. My husband is 6.3 and struggled a bit but we were warned and would definitely return anyway.
The location is perfect. Thank you for a lovely stay

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Thanks for the lovely review - so pleased you enjoyed it. We too agree that clean and crisp sheets are important and our cleaners work hard to make sure the beds are inviting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisaunwin...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enchanting Holiday”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our 5th visit to the most beautiful coastal village of Staithes.
Without a doubt these Fishermans Cottages are the Best in every way.
We have found our perfect holiday cottage/s.
Life is timeless in Staithes. Its like a step back in time. A slower pace of life.
But with all the mod cons. WiFi worked a treat, keeping up with the real world
'on the outside'. TV reception was very good.
Warm and snug with everything we could have wished for, for a weeks stay.
A friendly greeting and a chat from the locals made us feel welcome. While we sat and drank in that view and watch the world go by. You really have to see it to believe it.
What Staithes lacks in quantity is made up for in quality... Dotty's Tea Room is a must do.. the largest scones ever! and very welcome after discovering all those little alley ways or a stunning walk above the town..The local Butchers which also sells the essentials was handy and the Cod and Lobster Pub is a must. The Chippy up in the village was also very good plus a small supermarket.
My husband enjoyed sea fishing of the break water, catching 3 small cod.
History and Charm ooze from this tiny village. Its our hidden gem...

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Lisa! Thank you for singing the praises of not only our cottages but the village too. Your thoughtful comments are much appreciated and you really capture the spirit of Staithes. Thank you! We are delighted you've booked again and look forward to welcoming you - Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmck183g
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views from comfortable and cosy cottage”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We walked past this cottage last October when visiting Staithes for the day and were so taken with its location that we booked to stay for a week in March. The cottage itself is full of character with a well equipped kitchen and comfortable bed, with a number of artists views of Staithes on the walls. Sitting at the little table in the lounge you can watch the tide come in and out of the beck, and we were lucky to have weather good enough to enjoy sitting on the bench outside.

There are a number of walks which you can do directly from the cottage and we particularly enjoyed walking around the cliffs towards Runswick Bay. You can see Staithes from a number of different viewpoints around the village and understand why the village has been such a magnet for artists over the years. We had some great food at the Cleveland Corner Bistro in Staithes and at the Runcible Spoon in Hinderwell, but do check opening days and hours if out of season. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Delighted to read your wonderful review - thank you. We have tried to preserve the character of the cottage so it's still in keeping with the quaintness of Staithes itself, and we love to celebrate the many wonderful artists who have painted in the village, many of whom have stayed here for the view. We hope you will come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing