We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017 Here's the view in the summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
60 reviews
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017
Here's the view in the summer
Our sitting room
Open fire makes all the difference!
The view on a Mediterranean blue-sky day down the beck from the front door
Our cottages are the location for the new BBC series Old Jack's Boat starring Bernard Cribbins
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea - we've got the only lawn in the village!
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea?
Wake up to this view
One of the most photographed and painted views in England is the view from our seat
The three cottages - No5 is on the left hand side
Artists regularly stay and paint from here - even the interior of the cottage
We discovered this Gill Carter painting by chance in a York gallery - the view from our sitting room
Looking over the lobster pots - view of the cottages up the beck from the staith
Sunset over Cowbar Nab behind the cottages
Dawn over the beck looking from the cottages
Wild water at the bottom of the beck
Staithes from the fields above
Sunset over Staithes looking north
We are at 5 Cowbar Bank, Staithes, TS13 5BZ
Bedroom
Spot the cottage from the other side of the village
They say this is one of the best views in England - the cottage is on the left just above the bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew H
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved our stay here, very cosy, comfortable cottage in a very quiet spot near the sea, with all the amenities we needed. Kitchen was just enough to make a few meals/breakfasts, living room very comfortable with and we loved using the real fire on a cold evening. Bedroom was just right for a couple. Perfect for a quiet break or a romantic holiday.

Housekeepers were very helpful over the phone with any information we needed, and were just nearby if there was any problems (not that we had any).

Tons of great restaurants and pubs nearby in Staithes, I highly recommend the Cleveland Corner to anyone who stays here, best meal we had all week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
SO glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. We are extremely lucky with the location, right on that wonderful view, and we love staying there ourselves which helps with knowing what guests might like. I will pass on your comments to our very lovely housekeepers, and totally agree about the Cleveland Corner - delicious dining! DO come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely cottage with superb view”
Reviewed May 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Another lovely stay in this delightful cottage. Enjoyed the views from the bench everyday. Cottage very comfortable and everything you required in the kitchen. Staithes a lovely unique place with nice walks. The addition of the newly laid grass made it feel like a small garden. Will definately be back - can't wait for our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
SO pleased you liked the grass. We were hoping it would feel like an extra room. Yes it is wonderful to wake up to such a marvellous view and the knowing that you don't actually have to go anywhere - except wander outside the door with your coffee - to enjoy the seascape is the most relaxing thing of all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljc123201...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely stay in this cottage to celebrate my birthday weekend. The cottage was lovely, cosy, the cooking facilities were excellent, we bought some steaks from the butchers and Keith the housekeeper helped us out with a couple of steak knives which was very kind. The dogs also had a lovely time, loads of nice places to walk and lovely scenery...we will definately be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: The power cuts and the electricity used quite a bit, approx £5
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
We pride ourselves in delivering a very thoughtful service, making sure guests have everything they need, and our housekeepers are always on hand and ready to help. Delighted you enjoyed your stay - the position of the cottage and views are wonderful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina...
2 reviews
“Lovely and tranquil”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great homely cottage, neat and tidy. Beautiful views overlooking Staithes. Able to park outside a big bonus. Doggy friendly holiday let.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely and pet friendly, quiet location.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
Our Manchester terrier loves staying at the cottage - it's close to great walks and he enjoys watching the world go by. He can be outside without us having to actually take him out. Delighted you and your dog enjoyed it - do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samjmorto...
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location is just lovely”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just arrived home from a 3 night stay in this little cottage. If a location with breathtaking views is what you like then it doesn't get much better. The cottage overlooks the pretty harbour and sitting on the bench outside is one of the most relaxing things I have ever done. The cottage itself is small but has everything you need for a comfortable stay, I like that it doesn't pretend to be anything it's not. Just a cost coastal cottage full of quirkyness and character.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
SO pleased you enjoyed the cottage and view. I'm wondering what you thought of the new 'lawn' we've just laid in the front garden?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabellaM...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A blissful relaxing break in a quaint cottage”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a lovely short break in Staithes. The cottage was quaint and as others have said having parking is a bonus. If you want a modern all mod-cons cottage this is not for you. This is however exactly what we wanted. A cottage with character. It was cosy, warm and clean when we arrived which was very welcoming. It was comfy and had everything you would need in the kitchen and a few dvd's to watch and books to read. Keith is around the village daily to check everything is okay. Location wonderful, great to be able to take the dog for a walk on the beach just a few minutes walk away and sit on the bench and look out on to the sea and village right in front of you. Not having a phone reception and being able to get lost in a good book in peace and quiet. Will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: I can't think of anything. It was just right for us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
We would love to welcome you back. Many cottages have been modernised in the last couple of years but we are trying to keep a more traditional feel. We are pleased you enjoyed sitting on the bench and gazing at the view - it really is stunning and we are very fortunate to be in that unique position. Do visit again in the summer when it's warm enough to sit out all day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special little place ... Shhh”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Definitely a hidden gem. Tiny and cosy harbour-side Fisherman's Cottage. Loved the sunlit view from bedroom window in the morning (after arriving in the dark, after a wedding in Whitby). Stylish coastal decor with local artists' prints throughout. Very comfy seating in the sitting room with a perfectly situated table looking out onto the sea, harbour and village. Fresh cotton bedding. Hot shower. The rumbling and drumming of the waves echoing off the cliffs down by the seashore was very dramatic and definitely a unique memory. First visit to Staithes. It won't be our last :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
Sometimes in the summer I've thrown the window wide open, lain in bed listening to the sea crashing on the rocks and the seagulls on the cliffs above and thought there really is nothing like this. Glad the cottage was to your liking - we love staying there and so are able to design things in the most comfortable way. Appreciate your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing