We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location is just lovely”
other travelers have booked this property
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017 Here's the view in the summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
60 reviews
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017
Here's the view in the summer
Our sitting room
Open fire makes all the difference!
The view on a Mediterranean blue-sky day down the beck from the front door
Our cottages are the location for the new BBC series Old Jack's Boat starring Bernard Cribbins
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea - we've got the only lawn in the village!
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea?
Wake up to this view
One of the most photographed and painted views in England is the view from our seat
The three cottages - No5 is on the left hand side
Artists regularly stay and paint from here - even the interior of the cottage
We discovered this Gill Carter painting by chance in a York gallery - the view from our sitting room
Looking over the lobster pots - view of the cottages up the beck from the staith
Sunset over Cowbar Nab behind the cottages
Dawn over the beck looking from the cottages
Wild water at the bottom of the beck
Staithes from the fields above
Sunset over Staithes looking north
We are at 5 Cowbar Bank, Staithes, TS13 5BZ
Bedroom
Spot the cottage from the other side of the village
They say this is one of the best views in England - the cottage is on the left just above the bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
samjmorto...
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location is just lovely”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just arrived home from a 3 night stay in this little cottage. If a location with breathtaking views is what you like then it doesn't get much better. The cottage overlooks the pretty harbour and sitting on the bench outside is one of the most relaxing things I have ever done. The cottage itself is small but has everything you need for a comfortable stay, I like that it doesn't pretend to be anything it's not. Just a cost coastal cottage full of quirkyness and character.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
SO pleased you enjoyed the cottage and view. I'm wondering what you thought of the new 'lawn' we've just laid in the front garden?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabellaM...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A blissful relaxing break in a quaint cottage”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a lovely short break in Staithes. The cottage was quaint and as others have said having parking is a bonus. If you want a modern all mod-cons cottage this is not for you. This is however exactly what we wanted. A cottage with character. It was cosy, warm and clean when we arrived which was very welcoming. It was comfy and had everything you would need in the kitchen and a few dvd's to watch and books to read. Keith is around the village daily to check everything is okay. Location wonderful, great to be able to take the dog for a walk on the beach just a few minutes walk away and sit on the bench and look out on to the sea and village right in front of you. Not having a phone reception and being able to get lost in a good book in peace and quiet. Will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: I can't think of anything. It was just right for us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
We would love to welcome you back. Many cottages have been modernised in the last couple of years but we are trying to keep a more traditional feel. We are pleased you enjoyed sitting on the bench and gazing at the view - it really is stunning and we are very fortunate to be in that unique position. Do visit again in the summer when it's warm enough to sit out all day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special little place ... Shhh”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Definitely a hidden gem. Tiny and cosy harbour-side Fisherman's Cottage. Loved the sunlit view from bedroom window in the morning (after arriving in the dark, after a wedding in Whitby). Stylish coastal decor with local artists' prints throughout. Very comfy seating in the sitting room with a perfectly situated table looking out onto the sea, harbour and village. Fresh cotton bedding. Hot shower. The rumbling and drumming of the waves echoing off the cliffs down by the seashore was very dramatic and definitely a unique memory. First visit to Staithes. It won't be our last :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
Sometimes in the summer I've thrown the window wide open, lain in bed listening to the sea crashing on the rocks and the seagulls on the cliffs above and thought there really is nothing like this. Glad the cottage was to your liking - we love staying there and so are able to design things in the most comfortable way. Appreciate your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhysBev
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Seaside Cottage Charm”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A beautifully rustic seaside cottage. Communication was great beforehand so we knew where we were going. A huge plus point to this cottage is the ability to park outside. Most properties in Staithes have no parking, but because the cottage is situated on the other side of the river, you benefit from a free car parking spot right outside, plus a relatively quiet road as it leads to a dead end.

The cottage itself is rustic and charming. If you are expecting modern decor or large spaces this is not it. You book this type of cottage because you feel part of the life at Staithes. It's a lovely place to stay as a couple and we'd love to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
Rhys - we'd love to welcome you back. SO glad you enjoyed your stay. Many of the cottages in Staithes have replaced the traditional feel of a fisherman's cottage with a more modern interior however, we are trying to keep it all very quaint and in the old Staithes style. Once eight people lived in our tiny cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val S
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Our little bit of heaven”
Reviewed January 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is the second time we have stayed in this cottage - the first visit was in the summer months, a few years ago, but it stayed with us and we wanted to return as soon as the opportunity arose. This time we stayed for 10 days over Christmas and it was perfect for us and our dogs (2 border collies) - simply perfect. We rarely went out of an evening, other than to take the dogs for a late walk and we thoroughly enjoyed sitting by the fire - we even had mulled wine on the bench outside on Christmas Day!

The location is wonderful - offering the most stunning views across the beck, which runs through Staithes and down to the sea. It's a view I never tire of and it's constantly changing. The cottage is charming - cosily furnished and has everything that you need. I especially love the paintings and various pieces of artwork, which are dotted about - it has a real feel of a much-loved home which you are staying in, rather than just a holiday rental.

We had occasion to ask the housekeeper to pop out to help us with something but that was totally trouble-free too - a knock on a nearby door and our little query was sorted in no time at all. All information about the area is provided and lots of books to read too. For those who rely on their mobile phones - be prepared to have no signal whilst you are there. It wasn't a problem for us as there's no signal where we live anyway, but I gather some people get panicky! There is, however, free wifi at the cottage and, although the notes in the cottage suggest that this can be a bit wobbly, I had no problems with the signal at all.

There are many holiday cottages in Staithes but very few are able to offer car parking outside the property and, obviously, this is a real bonus too. Add in its welcoming warmth and wonderful views and, for us, it's pretty perfect. We'll be back again as soon as I can sort it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
It's great that you've booked again - we love sharing the cottage with people who appreciate it as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F
Hungerford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Such a relaxing week”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing week in Staithes. This was our third visit in three consecutive years and we have now stayed in all three Fishermans cottages - it now feels like coming home. Each cottage has it's own charm, so tiny by todays standards and so authentic, we love to imagine the families that have lived there in times gone by. The cottages are so well and thoughtfully equipped by the present owners and have always been cosily heated on our arrival - we hope for chilly evenings as lighting and sitting by the fire is pleasurable. Having parking outside the door is such a bonus, wouldn't want to carry our bags up to the car park!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authenticity and views
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
Your lovely review is much appreciated. We do try and keep the cottages quaint and traditional, in character with authentic Staithes, so people can really get the feel of days gone by. And yes, I know what you mean about hoping there's enough of a nip in the air to warrant a fire....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy bijou cottage with marvellous views!”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time in this cottage, it's view was so lovely to look at we were quite happy to spend a lot of our time there staying put and enjoying Staithes and the sea from the bench right outside.the front door.

The cottage was clean, neat cosy and warm, the sitting room comfy with lots of interesting books and a tv, and when the view was too dark to see properly we put the coal fire on and had a treat watching that instead!

The bed was good it's linens very smooth (this from a princess and the pea critical person who hates bobbly sheets!). Would have loved a bath but the shower is likely a small price to pay for staying in such a cute small and neat place.

We will definitely stay there again and have recommended it to friends already, though wondering now if we should have kept it a secret!?

Questions and queries before arrival were answered promptly and well by email and the housekeeper introduced himself and made us feel welcome.

Glad to have the chance to stay in such a lovely place...thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the open fire and the cosiness of the place
Liked least: No bath.noisy loo cistern but will go back so it can't have been that bad, eh?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
Anne - I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. DO please come back again. We stay at the cottage ourselves as regularly as we can so try and think of everything guests might like. Our housekeepers are wonderful, incredibly helpful and take personal pride in every guest enjoying their holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing