We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A week in paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
View from the cottage on a bright new year's day 2017 Imagine sitting here all day and watching the world go by - the view from the bench outside No4
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
View from the cottage on a bright new year's day 2017
Imagine sitting here all day and watching the world go by - the view from the bench outside No4
Cottage No4 is the location for the BBC's new series Old Jack's Boat
And here is Bernard Cribbins as Old Jack coming out of the cottage in the morning
Where better for sitting out than on our bench on our new (fake) grass? The only lawn in the village
The cottage has a cosy, comfy traditional sitting room with an open fire and a stunning vie
Warm winter evenings watching telly in front of the fire
The bedroom in cottage No4
Artists regularly stay here. Zoom into the painting left of the window - it's of the bedroom it
Looking out of the bedroom window
The shower room
Looking over lobster pots - The Fishermen's Cottages from down on the Staith
The Fishermen's Cottages have been our family business for almost 15 years
Sunset over Cowbar Nab behind the Fishermen's Cottages
View from the cottage over Staithes beck at dawn
Sitting room
Where better to relax over afternoon tea?
View from the cottage which is on the left of the photo
Staithes is a higgledy piggledy bunch of houses tumbling down to the sea.
Sunset over Staithes looking north
View from our cottage - you don't need to go anywhere else
We are at 4 Cowbar Bank, Staithes TS13 5BZ.
They say this is one of the best views in England - the cottage is on the left above the bridge
Spot the cottage from the other side of the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charles A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A week in paradise”
Reviewed December 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Having just stayed in no 4 for the third time this year it has stunning views from inside and outside plus parking right outside the door which is a bonus for staithes the cottage also has heating plus wi-fi included and
is very cosy and charming with a open fire and good neighbous the house keeper popped in after arrival to check all ok and is very helpfull and available all the time as he only lives 200 yards away carnt wait for the next holiday in paradise

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
We are so pleased you're enjoying your time in our cottage. With the coal fire, it's cosy and warm in winter, but you've still got the view through the window if the weather's not quite up to it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Love Staithes.....love the cottage”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved our stay in a beautiful little fisherman's cottage, and Staithes is now high on our list for a re-visit. I'm an artist myself so really appreciated Jackie and Max's efforts to put really nice genuine art works in the cottage, rather than the QD stores bargain bin prints so often used to decorate holiday lets. Staithes is one of those places where you come away planning to move house.....usually un-realistically! We loved it and highly recommend.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Oh how lovely - delighted you enjoyed it. We do think carefully about everything we put in the cottages - we stay regularly and have to look at them ourselves. We hope the art and the cottage inspires - there's really no point otherwise! Look forward to you coming back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just stayed in fishermans cottage no 4 the cottage was clean and tidy on arrival the housekeeper called as we where unloading to check all ok and again in the week the cottage is in the perfect place and a good base to explore and with parking right outside the door thats a bonus for staithes also the free wi-fi was very very good sitting in the window looking out to sea is superb but the real bonus is sitting outside on the seat with a drink taking in the stunning views we will keep comming back to this quaint charming cottage and in fact have just booked again for august

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Thanks for your review. SO glad you’re enjoying staying at the cottage and the housekeepers are looking after everything. And the view? Yes, it’s totally amazing. Wonderful to wake up to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lacks attention on some minor aspects”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Comfy double bed and 'reasonable view of a corner of the harbour...by no means 'stunning' though. Hot water from taps only luke warm, half a toilet roll available, have to put money in the electric meter, way noisy macerator and bathroom vent fan, outside bin already full when I got there, no house keeper ever popped by (all week) to say hello or see how I was settling in, mini cooker pretty pathetic for grilling anything, some crockery found to be in a greasy condition, front garden rose trees needed a major chopping back and the outside door/window woodwork needed a severe rub down and re-paint job. Also some electrical socket outlets were in a shoddy unsafe condition. The 'Old Jack's Boat' novelty thing also wore off rapidly because of seemingly endless tourists taking pictures etc whist I was trying to relax outside, For the money paid, even in July, it was not really very good value for money in my eyes....and I've stayed in quite a few properties in Staithes over the years to make this comparison. Sad to be so negative about it...just needs more TLC before each guest arrives..and perhaps invest a bit more money in the upkeep, etc.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at the cottage and only found the view ‘reasonable’. Looking down the beck and out to sea, as you do from our cottage, is often regarded as one of the best views in England. I have mentioned your comments about the cottage to our housekeepers. BTW - they don’t call in because most guests say they prefer to be left alone on their holiday. They are only a stone’s throw away over the bridge if anyone needs anything. We agree that people coming up to see Old Jack’s cottage can be irritating (and we have mentioned it to the BBC) but when you see the delight on children’s faces that they’ve actually found where their hero lives, you can’t help but smile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable, charming and compact - and great views!”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage was beautiful, everything we could possibly need (and more!) it is compact and tall people will need to duck, but that is all part of the experience! Great location, walkable to the harbour, the town, the pubs. It does need some skill to park well outside the cottage, but if that is your biggest challenge, such is life! Would happily recommend the cottage, what a place to stay, what an experience, glorious! Many thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay - please do come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie J
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love waking up in this cottage.”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We've stayed around Staithes in all sorts of accommodation but we just can't help coming back to this cottage which is traditional and cosy, has a log fire and parking, and simply the best view in the whole village. There is no better place to be than having a cup of tea outside Old Jack's. No dark alleyways, no walking straight out onto the high street, no need to feel you need go anywhere on a sunny day when all you want to do is sit and look at a view.

The cottage has a lovely bedroom, and the sitting room is comfortable with an open fire that throws out heat. It's always clean and fresh and the bedlinen is crisp. The kitchen is small and can be awkward depending on what you're cooking but that's a small price to pay for staying in a character cottage in keeping with the real spirit of Staithes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view - the location is perfect
Liked least: Remembering we don't live here after a restful week
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
The character of old Staithes is so strong and evocative and we are privileged to be able to caretake and preserve a piece of that history.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly scrumptious view!”
Reviewed March 12, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is the fifth time my partner and I have stayed at the Fishermen's Cottages and our love of Staithes grows and grows with each visit. This time we stayed at No.4. The sun shone most of the week enabling us to get out and about - mostly on foot but included car trips to Whitby, Sandsend, Scarborough and Robin Hood's Bay. It was great also to just sit and 'be' outside the cottage while admiring the view of the Staithes coastline and quaint cottages on the opposite side of the beck.

These three cottages have the most fabulous view of the beck and the sea beyond from the bench outside, and we never tire of waking up in the morning and enjoying the view when having our coffee outside whether it is in brilliant sunshine or under grey skies. The cottages are clean, comfortable and relaxing. They are well equipped with everything one would need and the addition of a wi-fi connection is very useful should one need it, as is the car parking permit for outside the cottage which is such a plus with the very limited parking allowed in Staithes. There is plenty of useful information in the cottage on what to see and where to go and the owners who have vast local knowledge with regard to the many attractions in the area could not be more helpful. Our holidays have now spanned all of the seasons but our February break this year would have to rank as the very best to date. We look forward to the next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Quite a compact kitchen but perfectly adequate
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing