We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a fantastic long weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staithes Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staithes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staithes Cottages
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Had a fantastic long weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Just had the most fantastic weekend in Staithes. Stunning views, stunning weather, fantastic accommadation. We stayed in the Kessen Bowl, and cannot recommend it highly enough. On top of that there was no phone or internet access. Which makes it a complete break from the rat race. We will be back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyJC1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at North Lea holiday cottage for a Friday to Monday stay. Booking the cottage and a parking space was straight forward and problem free.

The parking space was a godsend with 2 small children as it was located in the village, unlike the other car parks which are both a short walk up a rather steep hill.

I don't know where to start with North Lea other than saying it was fantastic!!

The cottage is located next to the bridge, the children kept a look out for salty dog and old jack.

North Lea is decorated and furnished to a high standard with everything that a family may ever need, it's plush and comfy.

Staithes is a hidden gem that provided us with some quality family time away from the hustle bustle of our everyday life!!

If you are contemplating booking then do it you will not be disappointed.

If you have booked, I am very jealous although we may see you when we return in August!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 800sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We keep coming back to Staithes, the feeling you get when you enter the village is like leaving your cares behind.

Once again we stayed at The Old Watch House, which is beautifully done with amazing views. Maureen and Maurice could not be more helpful, and are a delight to deal with.

Staithes itself is beautifully located, a real piece of the English seaside without any of the commercial clap trap, apart from the lovely gift shops and the ice cream van.

It feels safe, friendly and there is so much to do in the surrounding areas.

Both pubs offer great food and service, but The Cod & Lobster just edges it for the views & location.

Crabbing from the harbour wall is a must, as is visiting the RNLI, but mainly you just need to kick back and watch your life stresses disappear.

Are we coming back? Our 7 year old sobbed and sobbed when it was time to leave, we're coming back.

Room Tip: Use Staithes Cottages - Maureen & Maurice are a delight to deal with, don't forget your wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a view.. Quite simply the most idylic, tranquil and perfect cottage that we have ever stayed in. The views over the harbour were breathtaking and to be honest it was a little difficult to motivate ourselves to leave the cottage, it was that good. Maureen and Maurice afford a level of care and attention that is way beyond what is necessary and they were superb but never intrusive in any way. I was lucky enough to have my birthday whilst we were there and friends also came to stay. We had a magical week and hope to return very soon... unless the secret gets out !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LugubriousDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Old Watch House is amazing, we just love it and go every year. Its like a 2nd home as we know a few people in the village now and always get a really warm welcome back.

The property itself is in a stunning location with views right across the harbour out to sea. The lounge is upstairs to make the most of the view from the bay window and the kitchen downstairs again with the lovely view leading out onto a decked area overlooking the harbour when if warm enough breakfast al fresco is wonderful!

The area is lovely, lots of beautiful coastal walks, a lovely little beach area and old world village with only access aloud for cars coming down to the village (the rest have to park in car park at the top)

Its near to Whitby which is well worth a visit - especially the old side.

If you go and are interested in mines, Skinningrove mine is great - its not a "Disney style" mine, its real, with real miners taking tours and we really enjoyed that.

We love it here and want to keep the place to ourselves but as long as you don't book the first week in Easter your welcome to go and enjoy!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kercol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Fantastic property in an idylic location. I would highly recommend this property to anyone and would advise that the website simply doesn't do this justice at all.
Great holiday retreat at a very affordable price, well looked after, clean and tidy with all mod cons!

Room Tip: Great holiday cottage which sleeps up to 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jimbo0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The old watch house is a absolutely stunning cottage located on the seafront of Staithes. With 2 open fires and stunning en-suite bedrooms the cottage is a great place for a mini break! The pictures on the website do not do the cottage justice! We had a ball when we stayed here and the little village pubs are lovely serving great food at the cod and lobster. I would recommend a mini break here for anyone and the patio area overlooking the beach is great with a glass of wine watching the sea go in and out! The views are great and its must to stay here!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the upstairs bedroom before any of your friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank J3SY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
3.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
19.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
4.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
3.2 mi away
Captain Cook Inn
Captain Cook Inn
#1 of 6 in Staithes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dotty's Boutique B&B
Dotty's Boutique B&B
#3 of 6 in Staithes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staithes Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staithes Cottages

Property: Staithes Cottages
Address: Toffee Crackle House High Street | High Street, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Staithes
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Staithes Cottages Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing