We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and breakfast with lovely hosts and would recommend it to anyone”
Review of Roraima House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staithes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roraima House
Ranked #3 of 6 Staithes B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely bed and breakfast with lovely hosts and would recommend it to anyone”
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I went with my husband, this was the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in. The owners Stuart and Sandra were lovely hosts. They made us feel very welcome and were very knowledgable about the local area and had plenty of suggestions on what to do and places to eat. The room we stayed in was very clean had brilliant views and it had a very comfy bed. We would definitely stay again.
Staithes itself is a picturesque fishing village. There are also several walks you can do. We only had 3 days there which was not enough to see or do everything that is available to you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arvandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
125
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Lovely house. Tastefully furnished. Every guest requirement is met. The host is attentive and nothing is too much trouble. A memorable place to share with our longtime friends.
Anne and Andy - Western Australia

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apcrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordhshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August - a rare night away from the kids - and had a really brilliant time. Stuart and Sandra made us feel so welcome - we felt like we'd been treated as friends rather than paying guests. They recommended a beautiful 8 mile walk down the coast to Ruswick Bay then back through the countryside and woods to Staithes - and back at the house we were treated to delicious afternoon tea with home made cakes (which we really did feel like we'd deserved!) In the evening we ate down in the harbour at the cod and lobster which was also delicious.
The house itself is lovely and our room (room 1) was enormous (the bathroom was fantastic and huge!) Staithes is such a beautiful little gem - we'd love to go back but would bring the children next time!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Me, my husband and my 2y old boy had a wonderful stay here. Lovely large bedroom with huge ensuite. Bath was so big we could have all got in together if we wanted to! Excellent service, Stuart was a fantastic host and ensured we had everything we needed. Made mini breakfast for little one and even got up early to warm up his morning milk feed. Also box of spare toys under staircase should you forget to bring the toys. Room had TV/DVD player which was really useful. Took ice age DVD and played this whilst we got ready. Would definitely stay again - just watch out for the steep hills if you have a buggy! Beautiful place definitely worth a couple of steep hills any day!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoedirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lancs
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had three lovely days with Stuart and Sandra, our friendly and welcoming hosts. We will miss the afternoon tea and cakes and also the conversation with the other guests (and Stuart and Sandra) over afternoon tea and breakfast. It is a handy spot for visiting lots of places in the area, both on the coast and inland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at Roraima House. The room was really comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. Stuart and Sandra were really friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Hope to return some time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolceHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Everything was perfect. Room 1 was very comfy and beautifully decorated, four poster bed, roll top bath, powerful shower and a sea view! The village is just a short stroll away.

Stuart and Sandra are natural hosts, extremely knowledgeable, warm and welcoming. We will miss cake and chatting in the afternoon! Tasty breakfasts too.

The best B&B I have ever stayed in. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaChelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
0.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Captain Cook Inn
Captain Cook Inn
#1 of 6 in Staithes
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dotty's Boutique B&B
Dotty's Boutique B&B
#2 of 6 in Staithes
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Corner
Cleveland Corner
#4 of 6 in Staithes
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roraima House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roraima House

Property: Roraima House
Address: 40 Staithes Lane, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Staithes
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Victorian Sea Captains house. Extensive, recent, sympathetic refurbishment creating a beautiful home & B&B. Full of period features, stained glass windows, antiques & our collection of art work. King-size, four-poster, huge en-suite with shower & roll-top bath. Double en-suite room and top floor 'family suite' with double & twin, kitchen/diner/lounge & bathroom. Fresh home made cake served in the afternoon. Sandra & Stuart look forward to welcoming you to Roraima House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roraima House Staithes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing