We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly!”
Review of Roraima House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staithes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roraima House
Ranked #3 of 6 Staithes B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great couple of nights in the ever attentive care of Stuart and Sandra - great breakfast, very tastefully decorated and the ensuite reached my high standards!! Everything I wanted from a weekend away! Thanks guys!

The only reason I've rated sleep quality below excellent is that the bed was slightly on the soft side for me - but my bed at home is super hard!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
127
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

From first telephone contact we knew we were going to a very friendly place. Stuart and Sandra are very attentive ,knowledgeable, helpful and kind. We have just returned and agree with all the previous comments made about Roraima House.

We stayed in room 1, a beautiful, very clean and stylish room with a comfy grand four poster bed and a roll top bath. It also had a double shower but the bath was just too tempting not to soak in after a lot of sightseeing and walking.

The toiletries were luxurious and there was a good selection of beverages to have in your room.

Beautiful place, stunning views and delicious breakfasts. I know its said a lot but Roraima House really is home from home, we felt so welcome and comfortable during our stay.

Many thanks to Stuart and Sandra, perfect hosts and well done on a perfect set up!

We cant wait to visit again and having 'abduckted' a small memory, need to return to collect another :-)

Go - you will not be disappointed.

Andrea and Steve

Room Tip: Try for room 1, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pudules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed over three nights for a wedding. Had chosen via trip adviser so expected it to be good but it exceeded our high expectations. Lovely large room and bathroom nearly as big. Really comfortable 4 poster bed. Stuart and Sharon were the perfect hosts. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We can' t speak highly enough of this lovely place, we had a great four night stay in room 1, a spacious room with a four poster bed and a huge en suite bathroom with shower and roll top bath.

The breakfast was top rate with plenty of choice.

Stuart and Sandra are excellent hosts with some very good tips and advice on places to visit and places to eat with lots of things only the locals would know about, such as the tea garden at Runswick.

We both liked the small touches which helped to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing - even though we forgot to ab-duck-t the bathroom duck.

We will definitely go back and soon.

Room Tip: We only saw the one room but there is a self contained flat on the second floor - I would happily sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Gilgen, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We've just come back from two nights at Roraima House in Staithes. I didn't know anything about this B&B before I booked it; I simply Googled Staithes and B&B and took a chance. Boy am I glad I did! We had a fabulous few days in Staithes and surrounding area, and Roraima House is everything you'd want in a B&B and more.
The house is immaculate, Stuart and Sandra's hospitality is second-to-none, the afternoon tea and cakes are not to be missed. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. We have a five year old son, and they were able to set-up a roll-away bed in the room so it could sleep all three of us. Stuart was wonderfully helpful in recommending places for us to go and things to see, as well as suggesting delicious local restaurants for us to try in the evenings. (Definitely go to the Board Inn in Lealholme for dinner one night!).
Staithes itself is small but interesting, but if it's the beach you are after I'd recommend Sandsend just a few miles down the road.
If you're looking for a few nights away in the North Yorkshire Moors and coastal area, you should stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessglauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Do duck in to Roraima - Stuart and Sandra have developed Roraima House into deservedly the top rated TripAdvisor B&B in Staithes. Accommodation is clean, comfortable with character and charm, plus excellent breakfast and even afternoon tea. Our hosts really looked after us (lots of local knowledge), without being intrusive. Pleasant and picturesque walk down into Staithes village which is absolutely fascinating. Photographer's delight. Also excellent wifi. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had Room 5, top floor, which is set up as self catering with option for up to two couples (double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have returned from a one night stay at Roraima House whilst completing part of the Cleveland Way. What a find, Stuart and Sandra made us very welcome and were very helpful in organising us with having our luggage forwarded on to our next "port of call". The house is beautiful, spotlessly clean and maintained to the highest standard. Our bedroom was very well furnished with comfy bed and lovely linen and fluffy towels. The bathroom had a large shower which was powerful and there was loads of hot water and good toiletries. A bonus was afternoon tea which was welcome after a long walk and the homemade carrot cake was to die for. The breakfast was very good with freshly baked bread, cereals and cooked options.. We have stayed in lots of small hotels and B&B accommodation and would rate Roraima house very highly. Thank you Stuart & Sandra you made our stay very comfortable and we wish you lots of luck with your wonderful business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
0.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,046 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
518 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,051 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Cook Inn
Captain Cook Inn
#1 of 6 in Staithes
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roraima House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roraima House

Property: Roraima House
Address: 40 Staithes Lane, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Staithes
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Victorian Sea Captains house. Extensive, recent, sympathetic refurbishment creating a beautiful home & B&B. Full of period features, stained glass windows, antiques & our collection of art work. King-size, four-poster, huge en-suite with shower & roll-top bath. Double en-suite room and top floor 'family suite' with double & twin, kitchen/diner/lounge & bathroom. Fresh home made cake served in the afternoon. Sandra & Stuart look forward to welcoming you to Roraima House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roraima House Staithes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing