We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Roraima House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staithes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roraima House
Ranked #3 of 6 Staithes B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a find!”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

To be honest, the photos of Roraima House didn't particular inspire us as they certainly don't do the property justice but, having read the rave reviews on Trip Advisor, we felt we must give it a try. We are so delighted we did. From the cheery welcome from Stuart on our arrival to the warm hug and handshakes when we left, we couldn't have asked for more from our hosts. We were encouraged to treat Stuart's and Sandra's home as our own. Our room was lovely (such attention to detail) and everything was spotlessly clean. The generous breakfast was lovingly prepared and the afternoon tea and cakes were such a thoughtful touch. Stuart was so interesting and knowledgeable about the area and when he had no vacancies for the prospective guests who turned up on Saturday afternoon without reservations, he took the time to phone round to try to find alternative accommodation for them. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILFIE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
127
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Just returned from a two-day break in Stuart and Sandra's lovely house. They are a cheery, welcoming couple who can't do enough to make their guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Breakfast was superb, and served on warmed plates, and Sandra's home-made cakes each afternoon were delicious. Nothing was too much trouble and they were ready to offer advice on everything from what time high tide would be to where to eat out, without being intrusive.

I would definitely recommend Roraima House and look forward to returning for another break soon - especially as I only got round to trying the lovely moist chocolate cake and carrot cake and didn't get to sample the lemon drizzle :-(

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Stuart and Sandra are perfect B&B owners - helpful and friendly and the accomodation is very clean, well equipped and in a great spot for exploring the North Yorks/Teeside coast. Definitely one to recommend to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2011

The service and welcome we received was excellent. We were greeted with a smile, helped with our luggage, provided with coffee and cake and a wealth of information on the local area and the property. The dining room/lounge is very welcoming, during the day it is available for guests to use, it has a wealth of books on various subjects,various board games and a part complete jigsaw for guests to help out with. In the mornings you are greeted with a beautiful open fire and freshly made bread (unless Stuart as forgotten to turn the machine on). We did some walking whilst we were there and the ground was rather muddy, on our return Stuart offered to throw our dirty clothing in the washing machine for us. The hospitality of both Stuart and Sandra was outstanding. It was very enjoyable to sit and have coffee and cakes with other guests, this is not normally our scene but we have to admit we did enjoy it. We stayed in the self contained apartment and it was tastefully decorated, comfortable and very well equipped. We had the opportunity to view the other rooms and we would not hesitate in recommending any of the rooms to prospective guests. The local pubs and bistros are also well worth a visit and all within walking distance. This is somewhere that we will definitely return to both for the accommodation and the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpireiteChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

From the moment you walk through the door Stuart and Sandra can't do enough for you. The house is gorgeous, comfortable and spotless clean. The bed was the best we've ever slept in. The idea of the little duck to take home is lovely and a constant reminder to go back. The home made cake served with tea or coffee at 430pm was scrumptious and a welcome token especially after a walk on the moors or along the beach. Breakfast again is full of homemade goodies. Roraima isn't the cheapest but is worth every single penny and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie_wilko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We would highly recommend this B&B. The owners were very helpful indeed,recommending places to eat, trips out etc. \the room was lovely, clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Although this was our first visit it was like staying with old friends. Nothing is too much trouble. The hosts, the house and the food are 5*****. The only problem is leaving but hopefully we can plan a return visit!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisferdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
0.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,020 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Cook Inn
Captain Cook Inn
#1 of 6 in Staithes
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dotty's Boutique B&B
Dotty's Boutique B&B
#2 of 6 in Staithes
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roraima House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roraima House

Property: Roraima House
Address: 40 Staithes Lane, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Staithes
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Victorian Sea Captains house. Extensive, recent, sympathetic refurbishment creating a beautiful home & B&B. Full of period features, stained glass windows, antiques & our collection of art work. King-size, four-poster, huge en-suite with shower & roll-top bath. Double en-suite room and top floor 'family suite' with double & twin, kitchen/diner/lounge & bathroom. Fresh home made cake served in the afternoon. Sandra & Stuart look forward to welcoming you to Roraima House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roraima House Staithes, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing