We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From a different angle”
Review of Blue Lion

Blue Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bath
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“From a different angle”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

In the last few years I've occasionally visited The Blue Lion for lunch as a single, mature woman on her own - once because my car broke down outside! Each time I've had a delightful light lunch, and been treated with humour and courtesy - I often feel that in some restaurants lone diners feel like 2nd class citizens. If there are 2 of you dining, I would certainly recommend the assiette of puddings - try the goats cheese starter, no main, then you have room for this super dessert dish. On a recent trip to the Socttish Highlands there was a sign in the bar -"If you like us, tell your friends.....if you don't, tell us". A good philosophy! JEM

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    79
    37
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“How the mighty have fallen!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Blue Lion pub and restuarant is famous in North Yorkshire but our dinner recently cost £105 (for 2) and this included Langoustine that were so small I could hardly see them, let alone get any meat out of them, priced at £11.50 - the smallest I have ever seen by a country mile. My £22.50 ribeye steak was very average and instantly forgettable - my wife bought one from the butcher for £4.50 and it tasted twice as good. This gastro pub is trading so badly on it's reputation that the owner might soon have to swop his Aston Martin for a Mini as they can't go on ripping off their customers like this.Try the Wensleydale Heifer down the road instead.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baboo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch with attentive staff”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Faultless Sunday Roasts, helpful and attentive staff. Children's portions offered on all meals. Typically beautiful Dales location.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gingertiger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Who needs Masterchef ...”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had severe doubts when we initially entered the bar area : the room was packed - dinner services were running late , and staff barely looked up to acknowledge our existence... we began to think we had made a bad decision .
When eventually a table was available ( we had a 9pm booking , but we didn't sit down until 945... it was very busy) , we were bowled over by the quality of the food.
SUPERB !
The selection of cheese's for the cheeseboard was magnificent : we shared a 5-cheese selection ... it was served with a fine selection of accompaniments ... chutney, membrillo, celery, apple, figs, walnuts.
Its not the cheapest , true , but it is exceedingly good .

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HertsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Gastronomic experience”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The building itself is a lovely traditional Yorkshire Dales inn, with a good car park around the back. Despite another review saying the entrance was impossible to find, there was a clear door from the car park into the bar area. We had to eat in the bar, which had a very traditional feel, with dim lighting and a lovely open wood fire. Despite being in "the bar", we were treated like being in a restaurant with top service. Overall dining in the bar is a must.

The Menu above the fire in the bar area was amazing, with about 15 main courses to choose from, each sounding superb, meaning a good 10 minutes to make a decision was needed. We were given fresh warm bread to start with, then went for mains of Venison and Ballotine of Rabbit with orzotto. The venison was by far the best quality and most beautifully cooked piece of meat i have had, and the Rabbit dish was divine. Pudding was a raspberry sorbet with mandarin, which was very light and refreshing. The other dessert was the Blue Lion selection of desserts, which was a challenge to eat, however was a complete joy to pick apart, that included mini desserts of everything on the dessert menu.

A perfect gastronomic treat, well worth the money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SohPieRobBit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lion also viewed

 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Middleham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing