We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of The Blue Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent 2 very relaxing nights in this very welcoming Hotel. Very friendly, efficient , welcoming staff. Smallish, but comfortable room. The dinner in the evenings was of a very a high standard - some excellent , well executed dishes. Breakfasts equally enjoyable. Would highly recommend The Blue Lion and felt they offered very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gini F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    130
    66
    18
    11
See reviews for
50
270
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited here for one night, meeting 3 colleagues who also stayed. Rooms were very good with some nice old features, but had every modern amenity. The setting is excellent in the village of East Witton and the former coach house is picture post card. Staff were really friendly and helpful and the meal in the restaurant was first class with 2 of my French colleagues being very impressed. Food is quite varied and far from the usual pub menu, more quality restaurant standard. There is a very cosy feel to the place with open fires and small rooms, low beams Etc. Although it was spring when I visited, I can imagine it being wonderfully cosy in winter.
Breakfast was excellent having chosen smoked haddock and poached egg which was cooked to perfection. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful and the costs for the stay were well worth the price. I am sure I will visit again on a personal trip with my partner as it is a good place for exploring the local area and the Hotel even provide walking maps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyEight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just had the most fantastic dinner by the fire, the best dinner and setting I have ever experianced. Wonderful atmosphere, bar traditional oldie worldie. Food excellent. Very good service and will book again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very atmospheric: a bar with an open fire, settles, wooden floorboards... First rate food and good beer and wines. Friendly staff and no-one batted an eyelid as I sat sewing a large piece of medieval clothhing! Small but comfortable room with rather complex shower. We may well be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Lion for 2 nights over 4-6 April. We booked into one of the superior rooms in the Courtyard - room 14. The room was spacious and comfortable, and as previous reviewers mention, plenty of hot water, nice clean bathroom and underfloor heating. I had arranged a bottle of champagne on arrival which was waiting, well chilled, on our arrival. We ate in the restaurant both nights. On the Thursday the bar was packed (I think a wedding party?) but the lady behind the bar coped very well and service was very good. Our meal was absolutely excellent - I had the belly pork which was perfectly cooked. Service, despite the fact that the place was so busy, was really good with Mr Klein on hand to ensure things went smoothly. The maitre d' (? - very helpful and friendly gentleman with a beard) was attentive without being over the top. Breakfast the following morning was superb, with the same very efficient lady from the bar appearing to take our orders. We also ate at the hotel on the Friday night but it was a little hit and miss ie. we didn't get a wine list given, had to ask twice (the second time being when the waitress came to take our drinks order) and service was much less attentive (apart from the gentleman with the beard who was as efficient as ever). I'm not sure how much the change was to do with Mr Klein not being visible but not a huge issue. Overall I think this is a good place to stay - the upsides are high quality food in a non-fussy but comfortable environment, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and a great location. The wine list is pretty broad and well-priced too. The only downsides were that the bar has so many reserved tables that we couldn't sit for a pre or post dinner drink there which was a shame, and also our room was still not made up late afternoon when we arrived back from a walk - although this could have been due to the fact we hadn't handed in the key on our departure, and finally there is absolutely no sound proofing between the courtyard rooms which might be something to consider when booking. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This delightful inn was a perfect escape, with a huge log fire and quiet garden. The room was small, but perfectly appointed and clean, with a comfy bed. The dinner was so very perfectly delicious. The wine list excellent, if a little pricey. Just two reservations. Firstly, we were in room four and we were disturbed by the sound of running water when other guests were using the bathroom. When we reported this to the receptionist she said 'We are aware of it'. Secondly, at breakfast the hot food was excellent but the only prepared fruit on offer was prunes. But these matters would not stop us returning or recommending the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a wonderful discovery. One of the nicest bars I have been into. A mixture of gastropub and restaurant(s); this place is a real find. A superb menu with plenty of fish and game. the staff are great; the place is very clean and it is a superb place to base your self if you are visiting the area. Theer is some good fishing to be had nearby on The River Ure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teesdalepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Witton
1.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
409 reviews
16.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
403 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
20.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Lion

Property: The Blue Lion
Address: East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the splendor of the Yorkshire Dales National Park and nestled in the heart of iconic Wensleydale the historic 18th century Blue Lion Inn encapsulates the finest elements of traditional rural England. Paul and Helen Klein have run the Blue Lion Inn for over 25 years creating a blend of quintessential English coaching inn with modern comfort to relax and recharge. Whatever you require of the Blue Lion, be it real ale and food at the bar to candlelit fine dining and beautiful accommodation you can be sure that your stay will be homely, welcoming and full of friendly character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
Blue Lion East Witton
Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
The Blue Lion East Witton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing