We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service very good , but a few negatives”
Review of The Blue Lion

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food and service very good , but a few negatives”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went to this hotel on the recommendation of friends ,lovely scenic area. The room we were given was straight off the car park , very dark and the wardrobe smelt a little damp and it had an air freshener in it . This would probably have been ideal for someone with dogs but not us so I requested a room in the main building ,this was no problem and we were given a lovely one upstairs comfortable , warm with everything we needed.
Somewhat off putting all the reserved notices on the tables in the bar , but they were obviously keeping them for us later . The food at dinner was served there next to an open wood fire , the bench we were sitting on was very uncomfortable but the choice of food and quality was excellent . I had lamb which was perfectly cooked , wine also high quality not expensive . Service excellent if a little fast pleasant people serving . Breakfast was good and served in the dining room which might have been better for dinner the previous evening , would have liked to have the option .We would certainly have a meal here if in the area and will recommend a stay there to all our dog loving friends .

Room Tip: Ask for main building upstairs if you do not have pets or children .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
JyLivingston – 19th October

We are glad you were warm and comfortable in the upstairs room. It is always good to have honest feedback, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you again and if you have a particular table choice please do let us know when you make your next booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    129
    64
    18
    11
See reviews for
46
269
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Dales, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Blue Lion and we stayed in room 11 at the rear of the Pub which was ideal as we had brought our dog. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy. We enjoyed a pleasant circular walk in the October sunshine from the pretty village. Unfortunately we were disappointed by the standard of our evening meal in the bar. From a slightly overpriced menu I ordered the lamb on a rosti, but the lamb was chewy and I could not eat the rosti as it was so overly salted. I mentioned this to the waitress, but the plate was just taken away with no comment. In the morning our breakfast bacon was served dried up and hard, and the toast was burnt. Surely there must be someone checking the quality of the food going out of the kitchen? We feel that the Restaurant is living on its reputation, which is a shame as the Blue Lion could be excellent once more with a little effort

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Lovemajorca – 16th October

It was lovely to have you visit again and we are sorry your experience of our food was not of your expected standard. We would love you to come again so we can make your visit a more enjoyable experience, like so many of our other customer comments reflect
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I visited the Blue Lion to celebrate his birthday after recommendation from another family member. We were not disappointed! A great menu and plenty of choice from A la Carte (or blackboard!) to a choice from a set three course or two course meal at very competitive prices. The food was great value for money and very tasty too! The service was wonderful, the staff friendly and surroundings quirky! We will return and this time stay over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk20, Public Relations Manager at The Blue Lion, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your husband's birthday. We look forward to welcoming you again at some point to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiddingstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A classy spot from which to explore the Dales. Set in a lovely village with good walks around, the hotel has everything you need. A classic country Inn, beautifully decorated and traditional interiors for the public rooms. Owner and staff friendly and professional, with great food well presented. We stayed in a garden cottage which was excellently appointed and very quiet. The overall feel of the place is cosy, traditional and very welcoming. We would recommend this as a great place to stay and would give it 10/10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is our second visit here. We stayed in room 11 on both occasions (for 1 night on each visit), which is part of an annex at the rear of the hotel. For guests with dogs (as we were), these are excellent rooms. The room was comfortable and perfectly adequate, reasonably well equipped and clean. The garden area at the back was great to give the dog a run after traveling, and was well maintained. On both occasions, we had dinner in the hotel. On the first occasion we were part of a larger party, on the second we dined with local friends. Our first meal was only adequate, but the second meal was excellent, in terms of quality and quantity. We understand the kitchen can be a bit hit and miss. The French red house wine is good, and probably the best option on the wine list. Breakfast was good, although the kippers I ordered on our first visit were a disaster. The bacon, sausage and egg on the second visit excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the overall experience was very good.

East Witton is a lovely village, and perfectly located for walks. On our first visit we had time to take a couple of hours walk, but unfortunately on the second visit we had to leave after breakfast. We will certainly visit this hotel again. It is what it is - an old coaching and village inn, presumably modernised some time ago and now looking a bit tired, but retaining charm and a comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Lion for one night (which is a plus as a lot of hotels I looked at in the Yorkshire Dales have a minimun 2 night stay on a weekend - and the hotel accepts dogs which is also a bonus for some), the staff were friendly, polite and attentive. The room was small (as expected), spotlessly clean and perfect for a night.

We made a reservation for our evening meal, service and food was top notch - I had read reviews of overcooked food etc? Ours was lovely, as was the cooked breakfast in the morning.
The settings and ambience was really nice too - as is the local black sheep ale.

A lot of people making an issue of the price's - we found them to be on par with other places we have stayed. Don't forget you are in the Yorkshire Dales and its a tourist area so prices are bound to be slightly higher.

Would recommend staying at the Blue Lion and wouldn't think twice to book again for ourselves.

Easy to find, good parking, only a stones throw from attractions such as Jervaulx Abbey and The Forbidden Corner.

Room Tip: Room no 9 - Nice and cosy, on the small side, got a bit of character but if you want a big bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just stayed at the Blue Lion, The room was clean and nicely decorated, very cosy. The staff very friendly and helpful, Breakfast was fantastic. The only down side was the evening meal, it was over cooked as if it had been standing while we had our starters, the food was a little pricey too. Overall the hotel was a lovely place to stay, a great base to explore the area from. I would stop there again but would eat out

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Witton
1.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
405 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
16.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 5 in Ripon
1,261 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
731 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Blue Lion

Property: The Blue Lion
Address: East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the splendor of the Yorkshire Dales National Park and nestled in the heart of iconic Wensleydale the historic 18th century Blue Lion Inn encapsulates the finest elements of traditional rural England. Paul and Helen Klein have run the Blue Lion Inn for over 25 years creating a blend of quintessential English coaching inn with modern comfort to relax and recharge. Whatever you require of the Blue Lion, be it real ale and food at the bar to candlelit fine dining and beautiful accommodation you can be sure that your stay will be homely, welcoming and full of friendly character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Blue Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
Blue Lion East Witton
Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
The Blue Lion East Witton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing