We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value food and location”
Review of Cover Bridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Witton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cover Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 East Witton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value food and location”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Call in every so often when we are in the area. A pub with great character and a fantastic beer garden when the weather is good.

Food is highly recommended - someone said not fine dining. That's true, but great value and great tasting pub grub.

The beer selection is great as well with a good racluding local local breweries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We visited this pub on a tuesday evening whilst on holiday in leyburn, we looked on trip advisor and had good reports so we thought we would give it a try.

Upon entering we could tell straight away it was a local pub, cosy atmosphere with roaring log fires not too busy.

We ordered drinks and paid at the bar for them, we had booked a table in the dining room but we were the only people to be in there so we decided to stay in the back room bar, we ordered our meal hubby had a fillet steak good value for £15.00 I had scampie and chips for £8.00 we thought the prices were very reasonable.

Our meals came within about 10 minutes but it didnt think it was very well presented, hubbies steak came with aload of fried onion on the top of it, which spoiled the steak, it would have been nice to have steak garni or asked if we wanted fried onion on a fillet steak! the salad looked like it had all been chopped up and just placed on his plate, it didnt look very appertising. My scampie was very pale chips were ok though but again aload of chopped salad on it. We dedided to have puddings both at £3.75 these were delicious, we also ordered at the bar a pint of shandy and a white wine and soda, when it came to the bill we were overcharged by working it out the girl behind the bar i saw her slap £6.00 then another £6.00 on the till, it was when we were back at the cottage the bill came to £43.00 so we were overcharged by about £7.00, so dont think we will go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driver48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful beers, food and location, friendly welcoming staff and other customers. Been there many times over the last 5 years plus and always totally excellent. Can't wait to stay there at some point in the near future.

Room Tip: Visit if you possibly can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyfive441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guisborough
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a little country pub with only three en suite bedrooms.There is normally 2 log fires burning with dogs warming themselves and their owners.The food is typical Yorkshire fare, well made and lots of it at a very reasonable price. My family make a point of visiting at least once a year and as I fish nearby I am there more often, it might be the attraction of the excellent selection of real ales but I tell my daughters it is the log fires.The staff make you very welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. If you love walking, fishing, eating, drinking, or have a dof then thi splace is a must to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Cover Bridge Inn was recommended to us by a local couple we met. We used to run steakhouses and can tell when someone cares.
This is not a fine dining experience. But it is a genuine, country pub where someone takes pride that everything on the plate is done just right - and at a good price. I had a rare, sirloin steak which must have been around 12oz and was rare. My wife had chicken Kiev which was home-made.
I have never felt the need to write a review before but felt that I had to on this occasion. It may be years before I feel like writing one again. This place is doing it right!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billynomates_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My partner found this pub in a beer guide so we decided to venture out and visit one day and I'm certainly glad we did. The beer was great with a wide selection of guest beers and the food was also great and served by friendly and welcoming staff. We shall deffinatly be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lucyb168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had a couple of days nearby and planned to eat out twice. Went here the first night and went back again as the food was great, with a good choice (even for the vegetarian in the party). Very friendly atmosphere, great beer garden but even if the weather is not good the pub itself has a a great feel. We ended up chatting to a few folks, many of whom were local which is always a good sign. Great value for excellent pub food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rea15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Witton
0.6 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
443 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
410 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Braithwaite Hall
Braithwaite Hall
#1 of 3 in East Witton
44 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cover Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cover Bridge Inn

Property: Cover Bridge Inn
Address: Cover Bridge, East Witton DL8 4SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Witton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cover Bridge Inn East Witton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing