We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pub in the world”
Review of Cover Bridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Witton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cover Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 East Witton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful beers, food and location, friendly welcoming staff and other customers. Been there many times over the last 5 years plus and always totally excellent. Can't wait to stay there at some point in the near future.

Room Tip: Visit if you possibly can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyfive441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 47 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a little country pub with only three en suite bedrooms.There is normally 2 log fires burning with dogs warming themselves and their owners.The food is typical Yorkshire fare, well made and lots of it at a very reasonable price. My family make a point of visiting at least once a year and as I fish nearby I am there more often, it might be the attraction of the excellent selection of real ales but I tell my daughters it is the log fires.The staff make you very welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. If you love walking, fishing, eating, drinking, or have a dof then thi splace is a must to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Cover Bridge Inn was recommended to us by a local couple we met. We used to run steakhouses and can tell when someone cares.
This is not a fine dining experience. But it is a genuine, country pub where someone takes pride that everything on the plate is done just right - and at a good price. I had a rare, sirloin steak which must have been around 12oz and was rare. My wife had chicken Kiev which was home-made.
I have never felt the need to write a review before but felt that I had to on this occasion. It may be years before I feel like writing one again. This place is doing it right!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billynomates_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My partner found this pub in a beer guide so we decided to venture out and visit one day and I'm certainly glad we did. The beer was great with a wide selection of guest beers and the food was also great and served by friendly and welcoming staff. We shall deffinatly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank lucyb168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had a couple of days nearby and planned to eat out twice. Went here the first night and went back again as the food was great, with a good choice (even for the vegetarian in the party). Very friendly atmosphere, great beer garden but even if the weather is not good the pub itself has a a great feel. We ended up chatting to a few folks, many of whom were local which is always a good sign. Great value for excellent pub food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rea15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We come here regularly to eat and it's warm, friendly, traditional pub - food and beer are excellent

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BigG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

What a find, my husband and I stayed here for one night with 2 other couples. The accommodation has 3 ensuite rooms, all very comfy. Would have like to have spent another night or two here! Shame the weather wasnt better as the pub has an excellent beer garden. Food fantastic, the best ham (gammon) and eggs I have ever tasted. Staff really friendly and helpful, I cant praise this pub enough and cant wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment, even if you only intend to eat out the Sunday night was extremel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RootytootCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Witton
11.4 mi away
Thornsgill House
Thornsgill House
#5 of 7 in Askrigg
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
463 reviews
1.5 mi away
Braithwaite Hall
Braithwaite Hall
#1 of 3 in East Witton
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cover Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cover Bridge Inn

Address: Cover Bridge, East Witton DL8 4SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Witton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cover Bridge Inn East Witton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing