We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation, food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, food and service”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed there overnight while mountain biking nearby and found the whole experience very enjoyable. We were welcomed in and they even found a safe place for the bikes. The bed was very comfortable and our room overlooked the square so we heard the race horses going out for their morning ride. The meal was very good indeed - my steak was tender and tasty though I should have gone for the lemon sole which my wife had, which was a very good size and beautifully cooked. The service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. I'm definitely coming back.

Room Tip: You might prefer to have a room that doesn't overlook the square if you want to sleep in because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimsim65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Its so good to hear from another customer we are having some success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    141
    47
    23
    19
See reviews for
56
224
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Stronsay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at another hotel but sincerely wish that I had chosen this one instead. Varied menu, food well-cooked and presented, unobtrusive service and very pleasant ambience. Hope to re-visit some time in the future

Room Tip: Only ate here, did not have a room (wish I had!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are trying always to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Not the first time we've stayed at the White Swan and this time it seemed that little bit better. We took the scenic route, arriving around 3pm on a glorious afternoon.
Soon checked into our room overlooking the square.
Rooms are modern, not huge by any means but the whole place has a homely feel.
A pre dinner drink on one of the popular tables outside then a quick change and into the restaurant.
It was a full house, but our service didn't seem to suffer.
A nice deal on a 2course meal made it all the better & when we'd done we took the remains of our wine into the bar to let things settle.
A good nights sleep followed, but be aware that this is horse breeder country and lots of horses are brought out to excersise from about 5am so if you have a room at the front you will hear and seem them! Can be good or bad depending on your point of view.
Breakfast choice was good and again service & food were great.
If I have any criticism it was that the bar did get busy in the afternoon & with only one serving at times there could be a bit of a wait.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front if you want to look out over the square but be aware the horses will be up l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topbloke180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Its great to have such good feedback, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the White Swan with two other couples in mid August 2013. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by a young lady behind the bar. She directed us to our rooms and advised booking a table for our evening meal. Our room (no 9) was quite small but clean with a powerful shower in the bathroom. We were all very pleased with our evening meals and breakfast. The staff were friendly and efficient at all times even though it was quite busy. We all agreed we had enjoyed our stay and would like to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NthYorkSquashPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments, all very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We (myself, my husband and 2 children aged 3 and 6) stayed here for one night on 15 August 2013 after visiting The Forbidden Corner. We stayed in Room 3 overlooking the rear courtyard. I was pleasantly surprised by the room which was lovely. I have read a few reviews on here about some rooms being a bit "tired" etc but I would disagree. We ate in the restaurant and the food was absolutely delicious and I am a very fussy eater!!! I had the Thai chicken curry which was gorgeous. The kids had a pizza and that was really nice too. You could tell everything was home made. The staff were extremely friendly and the service was excellent. The breakfast was also lovely and the portions were "man sized"!!!! The room was a bit hot but it was the middle of August I suppose. I would definitely go back here, for the food especially!!! The owner was also very pleasant and wanted to make sure we were enjoying our stay. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammybfb2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for this great report. The team here are always striving to improve our food and service levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On the evening of 11th Aug at 19.05 we went to The White Swan for a meal. The barman [a young guy] served us with the usual politeness and when we asked about a table to eat the convo went thus...... MYSELF.... Could we have a table for two
BARMAN.... Sorry we are full End of convo
A far better explanation would be...... Sorry we are fully booked tonight with guests as tomorrow is the Glorious 12th but we can do food any other night.. you can try Richard 3rd or Black Swan .. very sorry.
It is irrelevant that i am local and eat 10+ times per annum as i knew the alternatives but for a tourist more helpful info would be valuable... As the bar was practically empty and the Bistro similar a more thorough explanation would have helped a non local. It has always offered delicious food and good sevice

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for this report, I agree the information was not correctly delivered and for that I apologise. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I'd just visited the local attraction Middleham Castle and needed a bite to eat etc.
Nearest public house is The White Swan, good i thought and ventured in.
It was quiet, i was possibly their only customer,but it was 12.30pm,no matter.
Looking at the bar's wickets i noticed they had Black Sheep bitter or rather they didnt (sold out).Other "wickets"empty also.
Nevermind i'll have a "Fosters", a success.
They sell food , not an excessive menu but adequate. I ordered the "Sloppy burger" which entails a huge burger patty with monterey cheese topped with chilli con carne in a bun served with chips and salad garnish retailing at £8.99 which i must say is delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milnaar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Its good to hear that we are heading in the right direction. Thank you for leaving this information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
7.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
1.5 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#4 of 8 in Middleham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Middleham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the White Swan we offer a great level of service and attention to detail. Perfectly situated to access all of Middleham's attractions as we are centrally located. Also there are great walks, bicycle rides (both mountain bike and road bike)nearby. Dogs are welcome, parking is free. Our new management team has as its sole aim "make your visit as good as it could be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing