We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage in Yorkshire Dales”
other travelers have booked this property
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Fox Cottage from St Alkelda's Road. Like much of the Dales we are on a hill! The kitchen with breakfast bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Fox Cottage from St Alkelda's Road. Like much of the Dales we are on a hill!
The kitchen with breakfast bar
From the kitchen to the sun lounge
View from the sun lounge at dusk.
The Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
The dining room which, like the sun lounge, leads out onto the balcony
View from the balcony between the dining room and sun lounge
Middleham, it's Castle and Wensleydale - no wonder Richard III loved it here!
Walking the dog by the River Ure 200m (downhill!) from Fox Cottage
From the drive to the front of the house in May
And for the dogs ...the side gate to the front garden.
...and the front garden.
The view from the bottom of the garden - the double bedroom is the bow window
A tour around the garden starting from the back door - this is enclosed.
The double bedroom with window onto back garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Middleham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
arco-oz
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in Yorkshire Dales”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fox Cottage is the ideal base for exploring the rugged and beautiful Yorkshire Dales, surely one of the most interesting areas in all of Britain. Middleham is close to all the local attractions and even has the remains of Richard III's childhood castle in the centre. There are four good pubs and a couple of restaurants and a small village shop. A good co-op supermarket is only a couple of miles away in Leyburn, along with even more pubs and restaurants.
Fox Cottage is comfortable, well-furnished and warm. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a washing machine. The shower may be a trifle cramped for larger visitors but this hulking ex-rugby player still managed to wash. Don't attempt to park in the driveway, just put your vehicle's wheels on the footpath and leave it on the street outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the central heating
Liked least: The shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milalsal
hull england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a few days to see the dales and walk.
Fox Cottage was a good size with a nice little garden for Alfie our daughters little Pug to sit out in. All rooms were a good size, nicely decorated and perfect for our needs.
I messaged Alison the owner several times prior to and during our visit, she was very welcoming of Alfie and she always answered promptly each time with great help.
Middleham is a great little village to stay in with fantastic castle ruins right in the village and also being the centre of the horse racing industry in the North you see all the beautiful racehorses going to the gallos each morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well laid out inc conservatory for Alfie
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mausa71
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good position”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very comfortable cottage with everything well provided for in a nice quiet area and within easy reach of main town,

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRS M E S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfortable cottage in fascinating area”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My daughter, son in law and I really enjoyed our short stay and would love to return.The cottage was comfortable and had we been staying longer we would have lit the open fire.lots of friendly pubs in the village....wonderful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Booking procedure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doodah56
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A real cracker”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had to postpone our holiday to Fox Cottage in June,but managed to get there this last week. It was certainly worth the wait.. The bungalow is very well equipped . and very clean. We had originally booked for the two of us, but our son and daughter in law had a baby last month so they took the opportunity of using the 'spare' bedroom. Cosy isn't the word.lovely and warm and comfy beds . Thank you for the bath robes, we forgot to take ours!! The new parents took the opportunity of a meal out, and left us to baby sit.. They liked the Richard 3rd. in Middleham We visited for lunch which was fine..Fox Cottage is in an excellent location. The drive is steep but not off putting...We also visited THe Priory Tea rooms in the village centre, which we thought was smashing and their pistachio and lime cake is to die for.. The area is a good base and although we aren't long distance walkers we managed about 5 miles every day.. Dont miss the Gallops, it's worth the effort especially, if like us you manage to get there on a clear bright morning.. We had a smashing holiday, and would really love to return, we would really love to sit on a summers evening in the conservatory.... bliss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to put down
Liked least: Coming home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micky H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage had everything you wanted,it location was ideal you could walk into the square in minutes and there where 4 bars there which also done great food

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the veiws
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I always enjoy going for a walk then dropping in to one of the pubs or the castle tea room on the way back to Fox Cottage .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzyLanc...
lancs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“can't believe all reviews where true”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked this cottage for a weekend to visit family. We were pleasantly surprised on arrival as all the photos etc where spot on.The bungalow was clean with everything you could need for a holiday or short break the bed are very comfy. The bungalow is up a steep hill so not suitable for anyone with mobility problems but middleham is very hilly its self. I visited middle a lot as a child and was surprised that it also had a few more small shops and places to eat ect, the area is well place to visit a lot of the Yorkshire dales and then you are able to relax in fox cottage a true home from home. We are already planning a longer return visit early next year. Thank you to the owner for the use of your lovely home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: TV quite small for viewing. the drive very steep but we parked on road without problems.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2014
I'm so very glad you enjoyed your stay and found Fox Cottage up to scratch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing