We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Jenny Wren Cottage

Welcome to Jenny Wren Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Jenny Wren Cottage
Traditional stone cottage Cosy lounge with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Welcome to Jenny Wren Cottage
Traditional stone cottage
Cosy lounge with wood burning stove
With compliments - Yorkshire tea and chocolate muffins
Dining area
Electric panel heaters throughout the cottage
Fitted kitchen with modern appliances
King size bed
Double wardrobe
With compliments - guest chocolates
Shower room
Rear patio area
Cottage sign
Situated in a quiet lane leading to the church
Bunting - Tour de France 2014
Our seat in the sun
Racehorses returning from the gallops
Middleham Castle - childhood home of Richard 111
Nearby Pen Hill
Wensleydale cheese - Tour de France 2014
Winter in Church Street.
Middleham church in the snow viewed from our front door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Middleham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
557gs
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

A lovely little cottage, very well kept. Doesn’t feel at all like a holiday cottage! Very clean and comfortable, a typical dales cottage, would recommend for a relaxing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracyking...
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage. Great location”
Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Jenny Wren is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Yorkshire Dales. It is spotlessly clean, classy and cosy.
The owners have thought of everything to make our stay comfortable. The welcome tray of tea and cakes was much appreciated and the cottage is equipped with everything we could need. Lots of games, DVDs and CDs provided for entertainment. Fab kitchen with modern appliances, but so many lovely pubs and restaurants in Middleham also if you don't fancy cooking.
Best thing about the cottage is it's location on a quiet side road near the church. It is right opposite a racingstables, and we loved hearing the clip clip of their hooves each morning.
We recommend sitting outside the Richard 3rd pub for a morning coffee, or full English breakfast, and watch the strings of race horses going out for exercise. Such an impressive sight. We will be back soon in the winter so we can try out the wood burner!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay again at Jenny Wren”
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Stayed from 30th March to 6th April 2018.
Visited Jenny Wren again, and had another great time. The cottage is an ideal place to stay, It is perfect for a couple, and is in a superb location.
If you like horses, you will love the sight of them travelling back and forward to the local gallops. Middleham has a good choice of good pubs, and places to eat, and is in a ideal location. Can't wait for our next visit in December.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillMary2...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1st class cottage and accommodation”
Reviewed March 24, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This is our 5th stay at this cottage, never fails on comfort and so clean with every thing one needs for a great stay and holiday. The cottage is situated in the heart of the village and great location for walking the fabulous country side.We will definitely be back and would recommend this cottage to everyone who wishes to have that perfect break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotrod591...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“super nice”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

lovely dales village, pubs ,village store,tea room. the cottage was clean, warm, and very quaint. every thing you could possible need.In the village center and plenty of parking near by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ste-lin31
WAKEFIELD
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“🏡 Gourgeous 🏡”
Reviewed January 18, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Another wonderful long weekend stay at the beautiful Jenny Wren cottage .Alan & Angela keep it spotless so well equipt everything you will need is here .Great for short or long stay . Had plenty of lovely meals locally .Some wonderful scenery without having to go far , had loads of lovely walks in Middleham itself Love this place . Love watching all the race horses up on the gallops , hope to be back in Middleham very soon ....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriet10...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in the country for New Year ”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

What a wonderful New Year break we had in Middleham in the Dales! Jenny Wren is a beautiful cottage situated down a quaint cobbled lane which is very close to the local church. The owners had added some lovely Christmassy touches in the living room and we made the most of the log burning stove (we went through a fair few bags of logs which were easily available in most of the local shops). The local area had lots to offer with a castle, church and a fair few pubs to visit. We enjoyed a couple of trips to Richard III pub which is minutes away from the house. Lots to do locally: Aysgarth Falls, the market town of Leyburn and Hawes were all short journeys away. We would definitely visit again and already have fond memories of our New Year break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing