We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, size, quality, atmosphere...”
other travelers have booked this property
Outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside
Exterior of the house Main Reception, now has two more sofas and an armchair added
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Outside
Exterior of the house
Main Reception, now has two more sofas and an armchair added
Library, on the gallery in Owners Suite
Owners suite with gallery - there is a futon on the gallery
Tower bedroom
Kitchen
bathroom in Owners Suite, has a great shower too
Guest review from our website
Middleham Castle is over the road from Yorkshire Dales House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Middleham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Guide7142...
1 review
“Excellent location, size, quality, atmosphere, price - everything!”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a three night weekend stay at the Old School House for my 30th birthday last weekend. The house fits 19 adults - and that's how many came. We fit there comfortably.

THE HOUSE: recently redecorated, the pictures DO NOT do the place justice. Every single guest sung praises about the quality and comfort of the beds (linen, mattress, towels). The living areas are huge. Excellent kitchen (with a brilliant dishwasher thank god). I can imagine big groups of friends or family groups having a great time here.
THE GARDEN: sun trap. Excellent.
PARKING: loads of space at the rear.
LOCATION: Slap bang in the middle of this beautiful old town in the Yorkshire Dales. Honestly I booked the place for the price and the number of guests it could accommodate and wasn't expecting much of the surrounding area. But it was great. The castle over the road is impressive. Walks nearby were lovely. The pubs, tea rooms and antique shops were all fab - and there was more than one of all of them to choose from too.
Can't fault this place enough. Go!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCHNorthY...
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed here as a group of 16 for a hen weekend and it was perfect. We wanted somewhere with enough room for us all to sit together round a dining table for meals and a lounge big enough for us all to relax / party in together. We also wanted enough decent sized bedrooms and bathrooms so that everyone had a comfortable bed for the night and this place certainly fitted the bill! On top of that it was spotlessly clean, cosy and warm and in a perfect spot for all the activities we had planned. The kitchen was very well kitted out and cooking for 16 was a pleasure. There's a great little shop just down the road that sells anything you may have forgotten to bring, a lovely walk along by the river, some great pubs, not to mention the castle which is right opposite. Everyone in our group loved it, we really didn't want to leave. Thank you to Steve and the team, you were all really helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfroHouse
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Afro House Weekender was a huge success'”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversary at this beautiful house. The rooms are really spacious and the children had a fantastic time playing in the garden and the local park.

The venue is perfect for a large gathering of friends and family, we even had some of our guests stay next door in the hotel and also at The Black Swan.

The weather was perfect so the children spent most of their time in the garden playing traditional party games and climbing the tree and playing hide and seek.

We went from a Friday to a Monday. On the Friday night we had a large cook up of traditional Caribbean and African foods. On the Saturday we all went to the park to play rounders and a member of our team, hit the ball so hard that we lost the ball. The children took a walk up to the castle and played in the large playing field.

On Saturday afternoon the ladies had afternoon tea while the men stayed in the park and played football. On the Saturday night we had a large garden party in the marquee, with plenty to eat and drink and a non stop BBQ going. On the Sunday we took a trip to Aysgarth Falls for a large family picnic. The children had big smiles on their faces and the adults all enjoyed socialising and spending time with one another in such beautiful surroundings.

We love Middleham and planning to return to the house real soon, We cannot wait to book our next weekender at the venue!!.Thank you to the owners for allowing us to share your home and create a lasting memory which we will cherish forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is actually more attractive then in the photos on the website.
Liked least: The neighbour complaining about the music
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMac9...
Lincoln, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Beautiful and Spacious House”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here with our extended family to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. This house is enormous and swallowed the 13 of us to the point where we never felt there was a crowd. The house is immaculately decorated and the rooms all have character.

The huge range cooker and three fridges meant that we could create a fantastic Sunday lunch and the spacious dining room accommodated us perfectly. The village and surrounding areas are beautiful and just perfect for countryside walks with young children.

If we ever need a property of this size again, we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The lovely kitchen
Liked least: Lack of curtains at some of the eindoes
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Relaxed Weekend”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Hi
I have just returned from The Old School House we were a party of 23 which included 4 babies, The house was huge and we were never on top of one another.
The house had everything we needed, lots of rooms and not sure how many loo's but they were everywhere lol. The kitchen had everything and the huge sofas were very relaxing.
We never got to use the back garden as it was wet but it did look very nice with two patio tables and a BBQ
My daughter arranged this as a surprise and she said the owner was lovely to deal with very friendly. We would defiantly go back.
We would recommend anyone going with young children to take a baby alarm as the house is so big you would never hear a child who was crying...OH and the owner should buy some cheap plastic cups and plates the ones in the house were far to good for the kids, we had no breakages but kids will be kids!!!
Thank You for providing a fab house allowing us to have an amazing Bank Holiday weekend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It just had a relaxing feel, the view and the size of the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2016
Thank you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danipeel
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing weekend!”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked the Yorkshire Dales House for my brothers surprise 18th birthday. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We had family of all ages staying and the school house provided everything we needed and more. The video and pictures online don't do it justice. Just exploring each of the rooms in the house took up an evening! Great place would recommend for anyone to stay here, would definitely look at booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaE123
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend!!! ”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Booked Yorkshire Dales House for my husbands 30th birthday celebrations and was lovely venue to stay. We had absolutely plenty of room for 13 adults and the kitchen and lounge area fabulous. Bedrooms spacious and comfy beds with clean linen and towels. Bathrooms more than adequate although clean some needed just a little TLC drippy cistern in one kept leaking. Hot water had to be boosted to ensure we all had hot showers. But games, music, TV, fridges and BBQ were all great. We had a fabulous time and very reasonable priced for a big venue. Would recommend and stay again. House was gorgeous and very quirky we loved our weekend. Thanks to Steve and the Yorkshire dales team.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing