We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer and food fit for a king.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Richard the Third

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richard the Third
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beer and food fit for a king.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited this friendly Inn twice whilst staying in the Dales recently. The meal that we had was home cooked and of a very high standard. We can recommend the pâté and the prawns in garlic starters. The main meals were of an equally high standard, especially the steak and the beer excellent. Great food, great beer and very pleasant staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharoncw67, Owner at Richard the Third, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Sue,

Thank you for your excellent review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and the food.

We hope to see you again when you are next in the area.

Many Thanks

Sharon and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    108
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
56
236
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed recently for a Friday and Saturday night. The food was great and Ken and Sharon are lovely.

I understand they have only recently taken over the establishment. I saw some of the changes they have made, and all I can say is that they have worked amazingly hard.

The only reason I have not given a rating of 5 is that, as they acknowledge, there is still a bit of work to do in sprucing up the rooms. For example, where some wall-mounted items have been taken off, holes needing to be filled and a lick of paint.Nothing major. This meant that they were happy to offer a "deal" on the prices quoted. The "list" price may well be justifiable soon, but not just yet.

They couldn't have been more helpful, and they have just the right attitude to customer service. If you visit, you won't be disappointed. And you may just find that Ken and Sharon become new friends!

Ken (not the above Ken, obviously!)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the town square. There was no particular problem with noise, so that sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited the Middleham area during June for a week of walking with our pooch. This is race horse country and the interior of the pub makes the most of it with lots of racing memorabilia, photos and pictures of the gee gees. First impressions are good as it is clean and fresh. We were served quickly at the bar by cheerful staff. We chose to eat in the bar area as we had our dog with us. The menu is typical pub grub. I opted for a steak with the normal trimmings and my husband had a lasagne. Both came with `fat` chips and a salad. Portion size was good and we certainly didn’t leave hungry (and didn’t have room for dessert). We felt we paid a fair price for a reasonable meal.
There is just one observation that we both made. This pub is `dog friendly`. Signs are up and there are water bowls for thirsty hounds. However the pub has two dogs of its own that have the free run of the bar areas. They are not the most friendly of dogs towards other dogs. We keep our dog on a lead when in licensed premises which makes it tricky for normal socialising with the pub dogs if they are loose. It certainly made it difficult for us while eating our dinner. We were not alone with this problem as another couple came into the bar with a dog and had the same problem. At one point the pub dog tried to `service` my pup......!
In short give this place a go for food but leave your dog at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty2352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had originally booked to stay at the Bay Horse in Masham with our friends for early May. We have been to the Bay Horse twice before and had really enjoyed the whole experience that Ken and Sharon Ward had created.
We were contacted by staff a few weeks before our planned stay to let us know that Sharon and Ken were moving on and would we like to change our booking to stay at the Richard III in Middleham which they were taking over.
We didn’t realise that this was to be literally during the first few days of Richard III opening.
Despite Sharon and Ken having a mountain of work and refurbishments to carry out (and they had done so much prior to arrival and during our stay) the welcome and hospitality that we received during our stay was excellent and just the same as our previous visits to their former pub.
We stayed the Friday night and the pub itself was really busy, with many of the familiar faces from the previous pub visiting Richard III as well as new faces…including new pup Ted!
The pub and accommodation are bigger but the atmosphere has been perfectly recreated.
The pub is cosy and inviting, and the rooms are a lovely size. We were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the centre of Middleham so awoke to the sound of hooves which was really nice.
Because the refurbishment was still ongoing, we were unable to have an evening meal at Richard III but the kitchen was almost complete and will have soon be up and running. Sharon kindly cooked our breakfasts in their own kitchen on the morning, a very yummy start to the day.
Ken and Sharon are a lovely couple and the hard work that they put into running their pubs was already evident.
We cannot wait to go back again, the one night was just not long enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rich_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayhorsemasham, Owner at Richard the Third, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Rich,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us . We are getting there now - kitchen is up and running and we were awarded four stars with eho bordering on 5! All the hard work is paying off.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Sharon and ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here a few weeks a go. Under New Ownership the kitchen was been refurbished. But we still had a great time. Sharon and Ken make you feel very welcome. The rooms are really comfortable and clean!
We will definitely be back soon to try there food.
It was nice to watch the string's of race horse's going up and down to the gallops from the pub.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollyBSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited Richard the III on Bank holiday Monday, and were advised the pub had just changed hands & there was a limited menu on.
The menu was in fact quite varied, & when the food was delivered, of a pretty high quality. It did take a little while to receive our food, however as the kitchen had only just been opened, it was acceptable and definitely worth waiting for.
I'd advise sitting in a window as you are able to watch the world go by.
If the new owner's keep up the high standard, this pub should be an excellent stop off point to the Dales.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

What stars we were put up here at short notice as our original booking near by had been cancelled. The owners were themselves in the process of moving in, despite this we got a friendly welcome and the room we were given was clean and comfortable. Enjoy the stay so much have booked in again in a few weeks. When I hope the kitchen will be up and running.
Top service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
0.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Middleham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#4 of 8 in Middleham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lindmar House
Lindmar House
#3 of 8 in Middleham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richard the Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard the Third

Property: Richard the Third
Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richard the Third 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Richard the Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richard The Third Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing