We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find”
Review of Stable Door - CLOSED

Stable Door
Cuisines: Chinese, Fast Food, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We ordered take out food to eat back at our accomadation at the Forbidden Corner. The welcome was very warm and the food was tasty and plentiful. We will definatley come back next time we stay at Forbidden Corner. We opted for individual dishes but next time would like to try their set menus which look great and are good value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariaofsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always great food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We are locals who always go to The Stable Door for chinese food. Tony is friendly and polite, the service is prompt and there is a good selection. The food is of consistently high quallity with generous portions and tastes great. We are lucky to have such a great takeaway on our doorsep.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kafkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good chinese food, and service with a smile!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Used the Stable Door for a takeaway while staying in Middleham, and were happy we did! The food was tasty, hot and plentiful, with the usual huge choice you expect from a Chinese. The crisply duck and peking ribs (personal favourites!) were as good as we've had anywhere.

Another nice touch was being asked what time we wanted to collect the food, rather than simply being told when it would be ready.

At the end of the day, it's a Chinese takeaway, so not exactly unique. But it is nice!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wags51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“nice "little" chinese restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a nice but little chinese restauarnt located in the centre of Middleham. I think the term restauarnt is pushing it a bit as this is really a chinese takeaway with three tables next to the window for up to eight people. I personally would feel awkward eating inside which was why I chose to visit it to takeaway whilst on a recent visit to the area. I found both the food and the service outstanding and wish that the multitude of chinese takeaways in my own area could deliver such good quality food to the same high standard. If I find myself back in Middleham in the future I will make it a point to revisit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MWH_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best chinese food in wensleydale!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

As locals we love having takeaways from the stable door, the food is always 100% yummy! The staff are always freindly and are happy to give you exactly what you want even if it is different from the menu. Love it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stable Door also viewed

Middleham, North Yorkshire
 
Middleham, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing