We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere Better”
Review of Lindmar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindmar House
Ranked #3 of 8 Middleham B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 18, 2010

A marvellous B and B. Great location for discovering the Dales, beautiful rooms,including a lovely lounge with a roaring fire, very friendly hosts and a sumptious breakfast. One of the best places we have ever stayed. P,L and D,H, Peterborough.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windmill50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 63 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2010

Have spent 2 nights at Domus House and nearly didnt come home due to the weather conditions...stayed in Rm 2...lovely room with excellent facilities...included a decanter of Sherry...very nice according to my partner who had several glasses !!!!..nothing too much trouble and the breakfast was plentiful, hot and served at whatever time suited us....living room warm and cosy with a real log fire..will definately stay again..had a nice meal in both Richard 111 and White Swan

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SidPenChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I do a lot of walking in Yorkshire and have never left a revue for any B&B. But this is not just a B&B its QUALITY Street !!!!!
I thought I could keep this little haven a secret but I have returned so many times with different friends, Who all want to return themselves.
I may as well tell everybody you wont find anywere better even on a cold miserable day it is a lovely warm place to be. Good value Good food & Ever So Clean Exellent hosts.
This revue will be a surprise to Ann & Derik as I have never put anything in the visitors book
(they dont know I can't spell)
David & Joan

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DwhLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed here for just one night but wished we'd booked for longer. The guest house is immaculate and we were made to feel very welcome from the outset. We stayed in Room 1 and were pleasantly surprised by the little extras - a crystal decanter of sherry in the bedroom, little chocolates, etc. The room really was immaculate and the bed huge and comfy with fluffy feather pillows. I think Room 1 is possibly the smallest room (i may be wrong) but it is plenty big enough for a king size bed, several items of furniture and a large wardrobe. In the morning I didn't want to touch the breakfast table because it was so beautifully laid, with a crisp white tablecloth, Laura Ashley crockery and crystal glasses. The breakfast itself was hearty with lovely quality produce. We found the owners to be polite and friendly and we'll definitely be back - soon!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandM_edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Just spent the weekend at Domus House. Derek and Ann were the perfect hosts the rooms were immaculate, the decoration was very tasteful and the little touches were lovely. Nothing was too much trouble, Derek asked us what time we would like breakfast and when we went for breakfast we weren't disappointed. Only wished we could have stayed a bit longer. We will be going again and recommending Domus to friends

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitbypontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Derek and Anne have a superb house, beautifully decorated and furnished and they extend a warm welcome to their guests. The rooms are immaculate and the breakfasts are well served and plentiful. Derek even lit the lounge fire for us on a wet, miserable morning and we were invited to sit their and relax. Wonderful! Overall, the best B+B we have been in. Many thanks to them.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niddry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

With tired legs, we arrived at Domus House after cycling through the Dales. I had enquired about storing the bikes and this was no problem. They were safely stored in the cellar and were ready for us the next morning.
The room was very pretty. The style of the room was very much in keeping with the georgian exteria of the house. Also the owners paid a close attention to detail: real milk, fresh fruit and even a generous decanter of sherry. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well, rested for the next day.
On advice from the owner we ate at the Richard III which was very nice home-cooked pub food. The service here was very friendly also.
Breakfast at Domus was very good. Fresh fruit, quality yoghurts, cereal, juice and a cooked breakfast of your choice. Overall we had a very nice stay. My only reservation is the price £90. We could have paid less for a smaller room so I suppose that was our choice. However quality B&Bs do seem to cost that these days.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleToot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Middleham hotels
0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
435 reviews
0 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Middleham
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#7 of 8 in Middleham
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lowlands
Lowlands
#4 of 8 in Middleham
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindmar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindmar House

Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4NR, England (Formerly Domus House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range: $127 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and elegant ivy covered Georgian house with three stylish en-suite rooms situated in the heart of historic Middleham, A Perfect location to explore the Yorkshire dales being close to all the local beauty spots of Wensleydale and Coverdale and the moors above Middleham where you can watch the race horses exercising or simply an ideal place to unwind and relax on a short break or enjoy browsing in our home and gift shop . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lindmar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindmar House Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing