We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best”
Review of Lindmar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindmar House
Ranked #3 of 8 Middleham B&B and Inns
Lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I do a lot of walking in Yorkshire and have never left a revue for any B&B. But this is not just a B&B its QUALITY Street !!!!!
I thought I could keep this little haven a secret but I have returned so many times with different friends, Who all want to return themselves.
I may as well tell everybody you wont find anywere better even on a cold miserable day it is a lovely warm place to be. Good value Good food & Ever So Clean Exellent hosts.
This revue will be a surprise to Ann & Derik as I have never put anything in the visitors book
(they dont know I can't spell)
David & Joan

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DwhLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed here for just one night but wished we'd booked for longer. The guest house is immaculate and we were made to feel very welcome from the outset. We stayed in Room 1 and were pleasantly surprised by the little extras - a crystal decanter of sherry in the bedroom, little chocolates, etc. The room really was immaculate and the bed huge and comfy with fluffy feather pillows. I think Room 1 is possibly the smallest room (i may be wrong) but it is plenty big enough for a king size bed, several items of furniture and a large wardrobe. In the morning I didn't want to touch the breakfast table because it was so beautifully laid, with a crisp white tablecloth, Laura Ashley crockery and crystal glasses. The breakfast itself was hearty with lovely quality produce. We found the owners to be polite and friendly and we'll definitely be back - soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandM_edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontefract
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Just spent the weekend at Domus House. Derek and Ann were the perfect hosts the rooms were immaculate, the decoration was very tasteful and the little touches were lovely. Nothing was too much trouble, Derek asked us what time we would like breakfast and when we went for breakfast we weren't disappointed. Only wished we could have stayed a bit longer. We will be going again and recommending Domus to friends

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitbypontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Derek and Anne have a superb house, beautifully decorated and furnished and they extend a warm welcome to their guests. The rooms are immaculate and the breakfasts are well served and plentiful. Derek even lit the lounge fire for us on a wet, miserable morning and we were invited to sit their and relax. Wonderful! Overall, the best B+B we have been in. Many thanks to them.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niddry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

With tired legs, we arrived at Domus House after cycling through the Dales. I had enquired about storing the bikes and this was no problem. They were safely stored in the cellar and were ready for us the next morning.
The room was very pretty. The style of the room was very much in keeping with the georgian exteria of the house. Also the owners paid a close attention to detail: real milk, fresh fruit and even a generous decanter of sherry. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well, rested for the next day.
On advice from the owner we ate at the Richard III which was very nice home-cooked pub food. The service here was very friendly also.
Breakfast at Domus was very good. Fresh fruit, quality yoghurts, cereal, juice and a cooked breakfast of your choice. Overall we had a very nice stay. My only reservation is the price £90. We could have paid less for a smaller room so I suppose that was our choice. However quality B&Bs do seem to cost that these days.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleToot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2008

Having just returned from a short trip to the Dales, we felt we must share our experience - just a pity we couldn't stay longer.
After a warm welcome and tour from hosts Derek & Anne, we were offered tea and cakes in front of a swiftly lit log fire - bliss on a cold, damp day.
The rooms are all individual and immaculately presented with everything of the highest standard. Nice touches included chocolates, sherry and a well filled tea tray.
Breakfast was delicious, substantial and again of the highest quality.
An added bonus is the charming gift shop adjoining the premises where you can buy mementos of your visit.
Middleham itself is a lovely place where you will awaken to the sound of horses from the nearby stables on their way up to the Gallops for training.
All in all, a wonderful place for a relaxing break.

  • Liked — The warm welcome and general surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david&janew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
0.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
405 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
438 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Middleham
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#5 of 8 in Middleham
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindmar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindmar House

Property: Lindmar House
Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4NR, England (Formerly Domus House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and elegant ivy covered Georgian house with three stylish en-suite rooms situated in the heart of historic Middleham, A Perfect location to explore the Yorkshire dales being close to all the local beauty spots of Wensleydale and Coverdale and the moors above Middleham where you can watch the race horses exercising or simply an ideal place to unwind and relax on a short break or enjoy browsing in our home and gift shop . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lindmar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindmar House Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing