We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely must be in the "100 Place To Stay in Before You Die" guide!”
Review of Lindmar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lindmar House
Ranked #3 of 8 Middleham B&B and Inns
scarborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surely must be in the "100 Place To Stay in Before You Die" guide!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

A really wonderful place to stay-the whole House was very clean, well decorated and full of charm and interest.It certainly is the finishing touched other reviewers point out that makes the difference-even the pot of freshly ground coffee in the room, lovely fluffy towels,feather and down duvets and pillows. Breakfast was certainly a treat with its good quality food and charming pots of preserves, butter and sauces.Thoroughly enjoyable, a wonderful place to stay:a real gem run by generous and welcoming hosts.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was really comfortable and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbobScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2012

An amazing place to stay and great hosts - thank you Derek and Ann! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelMacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night only, but the experience was really excellent. The bedroom furnishings were clean and well designed and the beds comfortable to sleep in. We even had a small sherry each to welcome us when we got in. Breakfast again was excellent with both good choice and good quality. The Guest House is placed very nicely in the square, and one has the added bonus of the constant passage of racehorses out for exercise. The owners were very welcoming and accommodating and we felt very much at home. Only one small comment - some at least of the bedrooms have smallbore sanitation, which for some people could be a problem. We've no doubt however that if this problem was mentioned beforehand, appropriate action would be taken. The air was of a friendly, well appointed guesthouse in a friendly town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Domus Guest House is the best of its type that my husband and I have stayed in. Ann and Derek are very welcoming. We stayed in room 3 which is a really generous size room. The little extras that they place in the bedrooms are a lovely touch. The furnishings are top notch and the lounge set aside for guests is comfortable with a beautiful large inglenook fireplace. The guest house is loved by its owners and it really shows. Thanks for a lovely 3 days.
Dave and Pat

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Domus House is the perfect B&B situated in one of the best English country towns. The room was excellent - very comfortable and very clean. Facilities in the room were exceptional - even a decanter of sherry was provided in addition to chocolates, tea-making equipment etc. Breakfast was excellent. Excellent bistro pub nearby. Middleham is a fascinating and very picturesque medieval town with a ruined castle and two market squares. it is also a centre for race horse training. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeandPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I have stayed with my fiance in several B and B's before and found them to be very good in one respect or another until now.
If you want in my opinion the best overnight stay you should try the Domus House .
Its the little things that make the difference from meeting Derek and Ann(the owners) to being taken to your room and finding everything immaculately laid out , a decanter of sherry on the siide various tea's and coffee, chocolate bar and biscuit .I have never felt so welcomed by two lovely people nothing seemed too much trouble.The breakfast as well was superb and the decor of the rooms felt cosy and charming .there are 3 rooms available we stopped in room 2 ,lovely view of Middleham out of the window and the racehorses passing every morning. All in all the best experience from a B an B i have sampled. We will definatley be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matty1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend and found it to be excellent. The room was spotless and very comfortable. They do go that extra mile to make your stay a real pleasure and provide a very tasty breakfast in the morning. The village has four pubs to choose from all within a short walk of this B&B. We ate at the White Swan and the food was of a high standard. It is in a perfect location for walking and exploring the Dales.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
0.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
394 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Middleham
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#5 of 8 in Middleham
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindmar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindmar House

Property: Lindmar House
Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4NR, England (Formerly Domus House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and elegant ivy covered Georgian house with three stylish en-suite rooms situated in the heart of historic Middleham, A Perfect location to explore the Yorkshire dales being close to all the local beauty spots of Wensleydale and Coverdale and the moors above Middleham where you can watch the race horses exercising or simply an ideal place to unwind and relax on a short break or enjoy browsing in our home and gift shop . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Lindmar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindmar House Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing