We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant as always”
Review of Tai Pan

Tai Pan
Ranked #23 of 98 Restaurants in Louth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellant as always”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We always go here for special events birthday, retirements anniversarys ect we have never had a bad meal yet. Sometimes there is my husband and I other times there is up to 20 of us. Which ever it is we all alway have a fab time with food that is brilliant there mixed starter is the best ever to share and I always enjoy their sweet and sour fish many more dishes to mention go and enjoy little expensive but worth it

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shellylincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Family Favourite!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Ive always loved this restaurant!! Ive been going here for going on 15 years? I know the owner and manager very well, and they always know what i want, they even know my drink order!! The food has never been a disappointment!! I love chinese!! What they do need to change is the price on the takeaway as it is priced the same as the restaurant food.. But it still doesnt disappoint!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Another good meal - Returning customer”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

As per the two previous reviews, the service and food was of excellent standard.

Keep up the high standards!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Valentine's Night”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Went on a Valentine's Special which turned out to be a bit of a mistake as we had a pre selected menu. Normally, a great place with enjoyable food, but this particular night something was lacking. Suggest always select of menu rather than a set meal.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blossomcat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent food, little bit pricey”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Arrived at the restaurant late-ish on Friday night with no booking (my boyfriend&I were visiting Cadwell Park) and the place was very quiet. The manager/waitress greeted us with a glance at the clock first. Fair enough it wasn't 6pm but I would expect restaurant owners actively welcoming customers, especially in these times. Anyway, we were seated in a corner well away from the other two groups of customers already dining (was this because we were dressed casual?), drinks order taken and left with the menu. Food order taken (all by the same waitress/manager), noticed most meals were comparatively slightly more expensive than usual Chinese restaurants. Advised we would only need 1 egg fried rice portion as this was enough for 2 people. We had to order another as it was actually only sufficient for 1 person! We both enjoyed our meals (duck in plum sauce and beef in black bean sauce). The taste of the food was the highlight, the portion sizes and the greeting was not. Upon leaving, the waitress/manager softened and became more pleasant...Would I go again? Yes but wouldn't expect to be overwhelmed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheJazzyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tai Pan also viewed

 

Been to Tai Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing