We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brackenborough Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Louth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to attend a wedding in the local area the following day. When we arrived, there was a wedding on in the hotel with many of Louth's finest littering the reception area.

Our room was adequate though someone had cranked the hearing up so it was far too warm. The extractor fan in the bathroom was also very annoying as it kept running long after the light was switched off.

The noise from the wedding was unbelievable. The entire room felt as though it was shaking and sleep was difficult as our room overlooked the courtyard where guests were and we had to have the window open due to the heat.

Breakfast was average with my egg and tomato quite burnt. We were also unfortunate that the wedding party came down to breakfast at the same time, so it was noisy again.

On the plus side, staff were friendly and accommodated our request for a later check out but our stay was spoiled by the wedding.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingerbelle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TA, comments of this nature are taken very seriously. so with this in mind could I kindly ask you to contact me on 01507 609169, to discuss your issues further,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 635 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had our wedding here on Friday 30th August 2013, and had a fantastic day. Everything from the hotel presentation, the staff that helped the day run smoothly, the food, the rooms the gardens, everything was just perfect. Nick our master of ceremonies was more than helpful and was there to guide us as and when needed, without taking over our special day. We can not thank everyone from the Brackenborough enough for their help and support running up to, during and after our day, without you all it wouldn't have ran so smoothly. We would highly recommend The Brackenborough Hotel in Louth to anyone who was looking to book a venue for any occasion. 5 star service all the way.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherylkemplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hello Cheryl & Matthew,

Thank you for your lovely review of your special day, your comments have been forwarded to all concerned, and I must say it was an absolute delight to be involved in your big day,

Hope to see you soon,

Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Me and my girlfriend came to the Brackenborough Hotel this week having visited the area for a sporting event. We had a wonderful meal in the Hotel's bistro restaurant, the manager Nick recommended that we have the chicken parmigiana off the specials menu (there was so much excellent choice in the main menu that we couldn't decide!), what a choice it was, the chicken was so moist and the sauce was fantastic, I've tried this dish done badly a couple of times in other restaurants, but on this occasion at the Brackenborough it was superbly served!

We each had a starter and 2 drinks and we were surprised to see on our bill that the food was reasonably priced too. The service was excellent and we left a £5 tip and decided to write this review (which we don't do very often) to show our appreciation for the service from Nick and his team.

Next time we're in the area we'll definitely be back! Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hello, thankyou for your recent review regarding your visit to the Brackenborough bistro, I am delighted that we were to your expectations, and hopefully look forward to seeing you return soon,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just a one night stay but very enjoyable. I did not quite expect the "boutique" designer touches but it works. The staff are friendly and natural, the bar well stocked ( before we arrived anyway!), the dinner we enjoyed was from a nice looking menu and did not disappoint.
The facilities were nicely maintained and clean. To top it all off probably one of the widest most appetising breakfast menus too. So you guessed it ....... Happy to recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wineorbeerpleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed your one night stay and that everything was to your satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you back,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Down on business for 2 weeks over the summer.
Jamie and his team went out of their way to make us feel welcomed.
I was on first name terms with all of the staff, the food was excellent. Being there for so long if you fancied something different that wasn't on the menu, you just simply asked the chef what he could rustle up for you... this didn't happen often as the food was first rate.
Rooms were first rate, only ever manged a proper breakfast once as i was away so early each day. Th night porter would have coffee and toast ready for me each morning before setting off.

I would certainly stay there next time i'm down there.

Stephen

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Now that's the type of review that we thrive on !! Many thanks for your honest feedback, it was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you whilst working in the area, the team always go above and beyond to look after all guests needs, and try to exceed their expectations.

The whole team have read your comments and are more than delighted that we delivered for you, we do hope to welcome you back if you are in the area again,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch service was very slow not like the venue at all , being their a few times and has always be good . We waited an hour for our main cause and then they left us again and did not even clear our finished plates we had to ask them to clear our table . However the bar manager did acknowledge our disappointment and apologised by knocking our tea and coffees of the bill . Which at least was a good gesture ! Want be going back in hurry .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mo231975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I would like to discuss your review further please, as on the day in question we had fantastic feedback and your comments really do surprise me, as this is not our normal service and waiting 1hour for your meal is not of Brackenborough standards, I have checked with the Chef and Restaurant Manager who are both rather perplexed by your comments, please call me on 01507 609169,

Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My sister and I came here for something a little different, at first we were concerned as we were with a small child (my nephew) and had been here before and wondered if it would be a little up market for a less than predictable squawky child. We were pleasantly surprised. We were offered to sit where we like and a high chair was promptly put by our table.

The menu had plenty of choice and again, reasonable prices! We expected a lot worse. We both ordered pannis at £4.50 each and they were very tasty! I had a bacon, sausage and tomato panni with crisps, salad and coleslaw, it was perfect!

Although our meals were so reasonability priced the childrens menu was more expensive, on average about 5.95. We ordered the one year old Chicken nuggets and chips which were proper pieces of chicken, battered and fried with chunky chips. I know how good it was as I finished what he didn't eat!

As we left the heavens opened but management kindly offered my sister an umbrella to get to the car. Little touches like this is what will get me to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oarsman1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review, children are more than welcome in our bistro at anytime and the menus for children are created with as much care and thought as the adults menus, we do pride ourselves on high quality service but we do not loose sight of the fact that we must be value for money at all times, I am delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and we hope to see you soon,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick KIlmartin,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louth
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
20.2 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
476 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beaumont Hotel
Beaumont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Louth
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
331 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
23.6 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenborough Hotel

Address: Cordeaux Corner, Louth LN11 0SZ, England (Formerly Brackenborough Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Louth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Louth
Price Range: $107 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brackenborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brackenborough Hotel, tucked away by the Georgian market town of Louth, offers a haven of tranquility coupled with contemporary surroundings and facilities, including our recently refurbished restaurant, The Lounge, offering fresh, seasonal produce with a modern twist. The Brackenborough is a medium-sized independent boutique hotel, with 24 individually designed guest bedrooms. We offer a chic, modern environment in which you can enjoy a romantic weekend break, a family get together, wedding or business convention. Sitting in carefully landscaped grounds, and set back from an easily accessible main road, you’re sure to switch to “relaxation mode” once you arrive! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brackenborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackenborough Hotel Louth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing