We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“No regrets!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Pigsty

New King size Double 4 Poster complete with fairy lights
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
New King size Double 4 Poster complete with fairy lights
New Fireplace built with back up heater Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
New King size Double 4 Poster complete with fairy lights
New Fireplace built with back up heater
Lounge area
Kitchen
Guests with Dogs are always welcome
Garden
Kitchen & Dining area
Kitchen
New 4 Poster
Bath & Shower
Entrance
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Louth, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“No regrets!”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were thrilled from the moment we drove up to The Pigsty. Wonderful welcome package of milk, eggs and delicious cupcakes. Pictures don't do The Pigsty justice. It is much bigger than it looks. Beautiful quiet and restful location which oozes with privacy. Everything has been thought of leaving nothing I could see out. We have been telling everyone we see all about how lovely your Pigsty is and we took a paper to put up on the bulletin board for anyone who may be interested in our little community. Thank you for 4 wonderful days. Close to everything or anywhere on the coast you would love to go. I would love to say we will be back and who knows we may just be. If you are thinking of booking this cottage and it is available for when you want it, you best get it booked because it is lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and peacefulness of the surroundings.
Liked least: We are fussy sleepers. We did bring with us our mattress topper though didn't use it the first night. Definitely put it on the bed for the following nights. Slept much better. We could feel the springs which wasn't major...just us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M
2 reviews
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My partner Megan and I stayed for 3 nights, and we felt welcome from the start. 'The Pigsty' is so clean and comfortable and is set in a quiet and peaceful location. The owners have put a lot of thought into making visits an enjoyable experience. Those who enjoy privacy will love this place. The garden is totally secure, which is great for dog owners. We thoroughly recommend a visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, comfortable, well appointed and quiet.
Liked least: There was nothing that I didn't like about this place.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaswoodl...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Location”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a great place to stay, a warm welcome from Christine and Lindsey, treats for us and our dog Harry, we all enjoyed our stay here, so nice for the peace and tranquility, coming from South London, it was really needed. A beautiful area of Lincoln, with such pretty villages around, The Pigsty, is a very comfortable place to stay in very private, and your own personal space right outside , a treat for me trust us... We seem to become friends with the owners straight away, and we will be returning for sure, you cannot lose with staying at the pigsty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happyeate...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday for me and my dog.”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My first time at the Pigsty. Throughly enjoyed my 5 days stay. Was impressed with the complimentary eggs, milk and home baked cupcakes, they were delicious. There was also treats, towels and a dog mattress for my dog. The accomodation was exactly as described. Was a peaceful location and garden was secure. Surrounded by quite countryside and not too far away to visit some of the seaside resorts. Visited the Cross Keys, local pub in the next village, food was good and allows dogs in.
Plenty of info for walks and places to visit and also dog friendly beaches. Would definately recommend "The Pigsty" and will be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and location
Liked least: Couldn't fault it
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having spent 3 nights at the Pigsty over the August Bank Holiday weekend I couldn't fault the place ,it had everything you needed to make your stay a enjoyable and relaxing weekend.The Millhouse restaurant was only 5 mins walk away and served lovely food but here it my only only gripe, it closed at 2_30 till 5 and the other nearest Pub wasnt walking distance so was stuck were to go for a drink,the weather was lovely so we took full advantage of the lovely garden and sat outside and had a drink and used the BBQ.Skgeness and Cleethorpes are only 30 mind drive tops and had 2 nice afternoons out.So overall a very enjoyable weekend just a little disappointed with the limited options for places to go for a drink but that isn't the owners fault. Would I go again?? Yes.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
I'm sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your stay at The Pigsty. This accommodation, as advertised, is a quiet country retreat. If you need to visit pubs there are two within 2 miles and also within 5 miles there is somewhere to buy alcohol. This is a rural area so pubs tend not to open all day. I'm not sure that the pub's opening hours warrant a reduction in score on our accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelly B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back!”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the pigsty. Christine was helpful from the beginning of the booking process to when we arrived. Lovely accommodation, well equipped and lots of room for 2 adults and our 3 small dogs. 30 minute drive from the beautiful Mablethorpe Beach and lots of local country walks too. Am already looking at booking again for next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyAver...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here last weekend and had a lovely time. Were greeted on arrival where we were given milk, eggs and homemade cupcakes. Lovely open plan layout with absolutely everything you need. Hoping to book again soon for another weekend and would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing