We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome, excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waggon and Horses

The Waggon and Horses
Ranked #10 of 95 Restaurants in Louth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We called into The Waggon and Horses for a late lunch as we were passing purely because the hanging baskets made the place look really pretty. We're glad we did, everything else defintely lived up to the outside.

The welcome was warm and friendly, and the selection of food on the menu and specials board was extensive. All was cooked well, and tasted as good as it looked.

It's not somewhere we're likely to revisit due to the rarity of being in the area, but if it was my local pub I think I'd be like the side of a house!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCol63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    46
    7
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Twice in a week - 1 Good, 1 Not so good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited the wagon & horses twice last week. First time, all meals were fantastic, 2nd time, not do good but still good. What I feel really let's this place down is the service. After your first drinks, nobody asked if you want anymore. Children's meals come out with adults, again, nobody asked if we would like them first. The staff didn't know wether the scampi was wholetail or reformed, John smiths being presented as Guinness!. Poorly trained people = Poor service, even the card machine ran out of paper and the girl didn't know how to change it!. Would I go back?, difficult question.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosa_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Decided to go for a meal for a family members birthday and despite not booking we were welcomed without fuss and seated very quickly, little wait for the food but once it arrived it was very good, well cooked and fresh not frozen reheated rubbish. Staff were polite and helpful and look of the restaurant was a little dated but overall good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oasis3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Abrupt Landlord”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently visited this pub hoping for a nice Sunday Carvery.. What a disaster!, it was all microwaved vegetables and tasteless meat!! We spoke to this elderly guy behind the bar claiming to be the landlord .. but he didnt seem botherd about our complaint and was more intrested in his glass of red wine!!...Which we thought was very unprofessional to be drinking behind the bar on a Sunday lunchtime... Shall not be returning to this dull cloomy run down old fashioned furnished pub in a hurry!! The photo in this picture is definitely not the one of this pub that's for.. False advertisement!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited here with extended family and can't commend the Pid enough. Food was excellent and plentiful. It was very busy and there were few if any plates that were not cleared, an excellent sign of the standard of the food. We were not harassed and allowed to eat lunch at our pace which is always nice. Would recommend a visit that won't let you done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinQwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waggon and Horses also viewed

 
Louth, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Waggon and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing