We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great place for a feast”
Review of Raj Mohal

Raj Mohal
Ranked #24 of 97 Restaurants in Louth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a great place for a feast”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've visited this restaurant numerous times with a whole host of friends and I've never been let down. Always greeted with a fantastic welcome and the service is always good. I've never felt let down by the food and I lived in Birmingham for a few years in the past and this place is better than a lot of those. I've recommended the Raj Mohal to lots of friends and they also love the place

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    12
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AylesburyBucks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service good, food a little disappointing”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We ate on Monday evening and were hoping for an excellent meal, judging by the positive reviews others have given the restaurant. The service was good and all the staff tried to do their best. The starters were okay, but I have had better in many other Indian restaurants. When our main courses were served (Chicken Tikka and Chicken Shashlek) we found that the chicken was extremely tough. On reflection it seems as though it was either over cooked or it was reheated from an earlier session. It was not only very chewy, but both rather lacked flavour and it was just a little disappointing. Perhaps we just got the chef on a bad night! Overall opinion.....could do better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine_HP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Probably the best Indian in town, good food at reasonable cost, and service by people who seem to care that you enjoy your meal. Can get busy at weekends, so book ahead or be prepared to queue. Can get full up at the counter with take-away folks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank amatamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and staff.”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We either eat here every Friday or we get a take away from here, the food is fantastic, always gorgeous, the staff are very helpful,polite and friendly .Great atmosphere also.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best Indian in town”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Love this place, it never fails to deliver a great meal with excellent service. Great choice on the menu with not only a wide range of mains but also a good choice of side dishes. Love it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Blossomcat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj Mohal also viewed

Louth, Lincolnshire
Louth, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Raj Mohal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing