We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of thatched cottage - CLOSED

thatched cottage
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: ITALIAN SPECIALS ON IN SEPTEMBER
Long Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fab host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

had a really good night , i thoroghly enjoyed my meal and felt i was a valued custemer.The head waiter was friendly and witty , would like to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    31
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bicker, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked for a Friday night, which turned out to be a really quiet night in the restaurant, we were one of only three tables taken, which apparently is usual for that day near to bonfire night. I think the young man who served us was called Jason. He gave us outstanding service, from the bar through to our meal. Good old fashioned service, like our drinks being carried through from the bar to our table. If only service like this was in every eatery! Warm bread served while waiting for starters is a perfect touch. The food we had was very good & the wine we chose, although one of the cheaper ones, was beautiful. My only criticism was that the Sutterton Cranachan dessert needed more flavour & more whiskey, as we couldn't taste any.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NatalieP616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trish C-Thatched Cottage restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

A party of us went for a family meal on Saturday evening, my meal was a surf and turf sizzler
priced at £17.95 for this I got 2 king size prawns and one strip of beef the rest was all
onion, peppers and 2 mushrooms and was not very sizzling and a few chips was also
served. My husband had a mixed grill (19.95) and he said it was very dry. Other comments
from our party was the soup was hot but no taste. So overall the experience wasn't cheap
and some of us went home hungry. I have visited this restaurant before and had a lovely meal so what has gone wrong I wonder?.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Thatched cottage for our anniversary just the two of us lovely meal. Deep fried Brie salad then beef pie veg and proper chips then finished off with a special sweet great food great service great atmosphere

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Thatched Cottage, a local produce pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I visited the thatched cottage recently with my boyfriend. I was very happy with the variety of food on offer, and it is a beautiful pub. I was very pleased to see that they also offer nearly all local produce and even have an in-house butchery.

I had West Highland Scallops to start which was delicious, I was envious of the boyfriend and his spectacular fish and chips main.

The staff were exceptionally attentive and I would recommend a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NVNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed thatched cottage also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing