We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“" peace at its best"”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Victorian Barn

A sunny spot with panoramic views towards the village of Theddingworth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A sunny spot with panoramic views towards the village of Theddingworth
Well equipped kitchen Open plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
A sunny spot with panoramic views towards the village of Theddingworth
Well equipped kitchen
Open plan living area
Cosy ground floor bedroom with ensuite wet room
Twin room with ensuite wash room
Meet the cattle
Cute lambs.
Walk through our flock of sheep
Amazing maize
Blackberry picking in September
A sunny spot.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Market Harborough, Leicestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KATHLEEN...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" peace at its best"”
Reviewed January 9, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

the location was great for visiting different areas at no great millage to go to, we came to this amazing place for Christmas and it was all we could have wished for .lt had charm with perfect quality ,comfort to a great standard ,perfect heating and the wet room was a real bonus,this ladies standards was high in all her homely touches. Sandra was a really lovely lady and it was to our great delight that not only had she left us freshly baked scones with clotted cream and strawberry preserve ,milk plus eggs to our amazement she had placed a Christmas hamper full of wonderful treats in the cottage,being Christmas plus our wedding aniversary we both were touched by her thoughtfulness ..this Victorian Barn is a place to visit by far....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyPlanet2
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful, comfortable, clean and well-equipped”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Perfect place to stay in the country. Easy access to Market Harborough. Friendly and gracious hosts. Very comfortable and we'll equipped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N
Mennecy, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our second visit to the barn. A very special spot to stay in.”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A year on from our first visit we were not at all disappointed. We were dreaming of coming back to this lovely quiet spot, especially our children.
A lovely home-made chocolate cake awaited us and as it was Easter, some chocolate bunnies. Much appreciated. The cake was excellent.
Sarah's attention to detail was faultless as always.
We always take away lovely memories from our UK visits. Having lived in France for the last 20 years, our visits to the barn have made my visit back to my old home region rather special.

In fact we didn't want to leave! Lets hope we'll be back soon.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hughpw6
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning....”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Victorian Barn is in a fantastic location, isolated and very quiet. I stayed for a long weekend and it proved to be the perfect choice. The Barn proved to be very comfortable, clean and perfectly located as a base for long walks. I enjoyed my short stay and very much hope to return in the near future. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarynF251...
Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing quiet peace of rural paradise”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Victorian Barn is a beautiful quiet escape from the chaos of the UK. We were blessed with a well appointed cottages, with every amenity that you would need. The sunrises and sunsets on the property were breathtaking. Your own piece of paradise where you could easily imagine you were the only people left in the world.

We travelled with a 7 year old and a small baby. Sarah was the perfect host and saw that our baby was equipped with everything she needed from change mat to baby bath.

We have recommended to family and friends and daresay we'll be back.

Thank you Sarah for your wonderful hospitality. It was a perfect Christmas and holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europaar
germany
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The barn was a wonderful base for our stay in Leicestershire. So secluded and peaceful and surrounded by nature. Communication with Sarah was brilliant from start to finish and she really has thought of everything you could possibly need in a holiday home.

Our grandchildren loved their en suite bedroom and ‘their’ stairs leading up to it. They also enjoyed the various games and toys that Sarah thoughtfully provided.

We enjoyed seeing our animal visitors every morning! Rabbits, pheasants and grouse, and even a little deer. What a wonderful nature show during breakfast! The badger in the tree on ‘our’ drive poked his nose out a few times as we passed on our countryside walks.

We had a really memorable time at the Victorian Barn and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a peaceful retreat and who enjoys being at one with nature.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: The curtains to bathrooms
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N
Mennecy, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were so pleased with the location of the Victorian Barn. A real "escape" which enabled us to visit family & friends from Leicestershire on a visit to the UK.
When we arrived it was raining after a near 12 hours journey from France. Sarah helpfully lead us by car to the barn. Nothing was too much trouble for her.
The scones, cream and jam were very welcome too. More English food education for my half French children - and what a delicious example!
The barn was really convenient for shopping in Fosse Park or for the Enderby Park & Ride into Leicester. Only 30 mins drive away.
I was able to stay connected online, as before I left France, I bought a 1Gb 3 Telecom USB wifi dongle very cheaply from Amazon. No connection problems at all during the whole of our stay.
We really hope to come back really soon, for another stay. Waking up to views of rabbits in the lane viewed through the large windows was really like a dream.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views.
Liked least: Nothing to say.
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing