We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Welcoming”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angel Hotel
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and Welcoming”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

First of all, it's only fair to say I didn't actually stay at this hotel, but I booked it for a group of 9 friends as a base for our big tour of England.
I wanted somewhere with real English character, history and charm which at the same time would provide all the comforts of a modern hotel. The Angel is perfectly located for the amenities of the town and my friends had nothing but praise for the friendly, helpful staff. Even the rooms at the front of the hotel had no trouble from traffic noise.
The only complaint was that none of them, using a variety of electronic devices, could connect to the Wi-Fi service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenFrench_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    93
    46
    26
    21
See reviews for
38
88
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was one of a group of seven friends visiting Market Harborough for a long weekend, and had the good fortune to stay at this well run family hotel. From the outset the staff were welcoming and courteously efficient and the general atmosphere and ambience were pleasantly assuring. The rooms are adequately furnished and, more importantly, impeccably clean, with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. The bath room was equipped with all the necessary toiletries.

The food choices range from a substantial and varied breakfast to light snacks, which are available in the bar at lunchtime, and a very good table d'hote menu in the restaurant in the evening. The quality of the food is first class, the evening meal being well presented but unpretentious with a satisfying "home cooked" feel about it.

The bar, which is quite large and open to the public, is entertaining and pleasant in which to enjoy a well deserved drink or two after, in our case, a long walk in the country. A visit to Foxton Locks is a must.

The hotel has a large car park at the rear which is free to residents, a rare commodity these days. If you are looking for a pleasant stay with the emphasis on value for money ( the prices are very competitive) I recommend that you look no further than the Angel.

Lastly, our thanks to all the staff, especially Eileen and Zara in reception, who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff were a bit offhand on check in. Breakfast was a bit disorganised but plenty of character in a good location The room was comfortable and the bathroom was brilliant. V modern and clean. A good one night stop over

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked in to The Angel for 3 nights in April - we had special dietary and minor disability requirements all of which were met from the start . The first floor en-suite room was excellent with bath and shower and views onto the High Street (double glazing protecting from traffic noises) and the courtyard. Breakfast tasty and great variety from kippers to full english and anything you want in between - served by jolly ladies, and the evening snack provided at short notice was just right. The hotel bar was friendly and convivial and the tariff for everything very reasonable. So if you want to stay in Market Harborough, itself a delightful market town - try the Angel for a bit welcome, atmosphere and soul, as well as goodies mentioned above.

Room Tip: Check that if your room is facing the High Street it has double glazing panels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I used a booking site to book this hotel and it only cost £1 less than booking direct but hey £1 is a saving.....NOT. Got here to find breakfast not included, if I had booked direct at that £1 more breakfast was included.
Anyway its a decent hotel, clean if a bit tired and basic. Perfect for my trip. Staff welcoming and friendly. Wi fi in rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Angel March 2013 overnight as we were attending a funeral the following day.
What could have been a total disaster stay was so promptly and kindly dealt with that we will return again for sure.
Would highly recommend the burgers. The breakfast was not only lovely but served by really lovely and attentive staff; as are all the staff actually.
There is a comment on here that says someone complained re her food and was "sneakily given a bottle of wine to make up for the disappointment"...What may I ask is wrong with that?
Surely a gesture of goodwill is far better than none.
We were sorry that we couldn't stay another evening but we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the building and possibly top floor if your noise sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirthdayGift186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Friends and family stayed here years ago, and were not impressed so I was dubious at first. How it has changed! A major face lift; clean, warm well equipped rooms, great food, good prices and a roaring fire in the bar - what more could you want? Oh yes; helpful friendly staff - and this they have in spades. This is absolutely where I will stay in future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Harborough
0.1 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Market Harborough
Travelodge Market Harborough
#3 of 5 in Market Harborough
237 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.2 mi away
Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothwell
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Property: Angel Hotel
Address: 37 High Street, Market Harborough LE16 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Market Harborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Market Harborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing